50 Business Statistics Terms To Know Before Starting a New Business

A business statistician working in their office

The internet has simplified the process of starting up a business through website builders, online marketplaces, and an abundance of tools. However, these platforms only scratch the surface of the business savvy required to run a company. Instead, it takes an understanding of key words and phrases to find success. This article contains 50 business statistics terms you absolutely must know before starting a new business.

Starting a New Business & the Havoc!

Even with the help of the internet, there’s nothing easy about starting up a new business. The entire process can be overwhelming, from determining your business structure and operating state to choosing vendors and deciding how to sell your product or service. To top all that off, you have to wade through all sorts of business jargon that you can’t possibly hope to understand.

Take a deep breath. Everyone creating a company for the first time experiences this same mix of emotions. What may seem like Greek right now will someday be crystal clear. By being here, you’re on the right path to making that dream a reality.

Confused and stressed businessman

How Will Business Statistics Terms Help You?

With so many businesses rising up all the time, it can be a challenge to stand out in the crowd. Even if your products or services mirror some other company, your level of business knowledge may just be what sets you apart.

Having a detailed understanding of business statistics terms will help you build the company you’ve been dreaming about for some time. Being able to track finances, monitor customer retention, and deal with financing can help you visualize the direction your company is headed through cold hard facts. Knowing how to process the information allows for a course correction that would otherwise sink a fledgling business. 

50 Business Statistics Terms You Need To Know! 

Below you’ll find 50 of the most common business statistics terms used by companies. You’ll want to learn these as quickly as possible to give your business the best chance to succeed.

50 business statistics terms you need to know

1. Accounts Payable

Accounts payable refers to short-term debt that your company owes vendors or suppliers. It constitutes the sum of all purchases made on credit that your business has not yet settled payments with. Such expenses must be paid off within the appropriate time frame to avoid repercussions.

Business owners should always keep detailed records of credits and debits into accounts payable to avoid issues. Many businesses have an accounts payable team with the sole purpose of handling monies owed to other ventures. Note that accounts payable do not include long-term debts from loans or large capital purchases.

Amounts in accounts payable show up as credits while you prepare for funds to go out. Once paid, debit accounts payable and credit the appropriate cash account.

2. Accounts Receivable

Similar to accounts payable, accounts receivable represents funds other entities own your business for services provided or products delivered. These amounts are assets coming into your business to use as part of your overall working capital. Each organization you supply goods or services to has a legal obligation to pay within an allotted time.

After providing your products or services, it is your responsibility to send an invoice with mutually agreed payment terms. In most cases, terms range between 30 and 60 days for the transfer of funds. Should customers fail to make timely payments, it’s possible to charge fees or impose penalties.

Your accounts receivable list will show as debits until you receive payments. At that point, you’ll credit the accounts receivable column and debit your cash account.

3. Accruals

In accounting, accruals showcase adjustments to your company’s net income before payments have been sent or received. Every time your business purchases an item on credit or supplies a product or service, an accrual takes place on your income statement. They only apply to instances where an exchange of cash has not yet happened.

Accruals can be revenues earned by your business or expenses incurred. Recording these types of transactions throughout a cycle makes invoicing a much simpler process when it comes time to bill. It also ensures you won’t have any surprises when you receive a charge from one of your vendors.

4. A/B Testing

A/B testing is a means for businesses to compare two scenarios surrounding a single variable to see which works better. Such a test, also known as split or bucket testing, can prove valuable in determining the direction or approach your company should go with a particular matter. The key is modifying only one variable at a time to see its effect on the overall picture.

For instance, business owners can attempt two different versions of a website popup to see which one draws the most attention. You then show one version with green text to a random group of users and the same popup with blue text to a different random group. By keeping all other components the same, it becomes clear from testing which color customers prefer.

5. Bounce

Bounce or bounce rate measures the length of time customers spend on your website at any given time. The higher this number is, the faster people are exiting your page and moving on to other things. In an ideal world, the features on your page will keep shoppers engaged and happy while browsing your wares. 

If you have a high bounce rate, your company may not see the numbers you were hoping for from online sales. All hope is not lost, as you and your team can redesign a site to become more pleasing to peruse. Keep in mind also that customers will vanish if they have trouble navigating or prompts are too convoluted to understand.

6. Balance Sheet

Your company’s balance sheet equates to a financial snapshot of how business is going at any given time. The document contains all your assets and liabilities alongside any shareholder equity at that moment. Most organizations study these numbers at the end of a quarter or fiscal year.

Balance Sheet illustration

Balance sheets help identify the financial health of your business by listing its overall worth. At a glance, you’ll see all your assets, such as cash, inventory, and accounts receivable. These will appear next to liabilities in the form of rent, loan payments, and other accounts payable. The balance sheet also records shareholder equity from capital or invested income.

In all instances, balance sheets should actually balance. To determine if this is the case, businesses use the following formula:

Assets = Liabilities + Shareholders’ Equity

7. CAC

CAC stands for customer acquisition cost. This is an estimated value of how much your company has to spend in order to acquire a paying customer. To calculate such a number, you’ll need to identify every expense in marketing and sales that go toward bringing individuals to your business. Divide this amount by the number of customers your company had over the same period of time.

It’s imperative that the cost of bringing in customers doesn’t outweigh how much you’re making on the products or services you sell. Taking the time to understand your customer base can help bring these costs down.

8. Capital

Many people equate capital with dollar bills, but it extends well beyond the amount of money your company has. The term encompasses your overall wealth as an organization and includes physical assets such as equipment, vehicles, and buildings. More recently, capital has grown to include intangible things such as intellectual property.

Each of the items that make up your company’s capital generates some sort of value that helps create income. Business owners often assign a capital type, such as debt, equity, trading, or working. Businesses can help raise capital by issuing stocks and bonds to investors.

9. Churn

Churn rate, also known as attrition, depicts the frequency that customers stop doing business with you. This could be losses in the number of subscribers to a service or a record of customers who have not made a purchase over a specific length of time. To qualify for churn, individuals must have purchased something from your business at least one time.

There’s no way to maintain your entire clientele each cycle, so some churn should be expected. For a healthy business, the customer growth rate must exceed the number of customers you lose in a set period.

Businesses may also use this term to indicate employee turnover in a given window. You can use churn to track quality of life in your work environment and make improvements as needed.

10. Working Capital

A subset of capital, working capital consists of the assets a company needs to run its day-to-day operations. Working capital helps financial teams understand how well an organization can handle financial challenges as they appear. In general, more working capital allows companies to compensate for day-to-day changes that could upset smooth operations.

It takes knowledge of current assets and liabilities to calculate a value for working capital. A simple subtraction of the totals from those two columns reveals the working capital for your business. Low values should be a source of concern and remedied as soon as possible.

11. Cash Flow

No business can survive without a healthy amount of cash. Cash flow captures how money flows both into and out of your company. Positive cash flow occurs when more cash enters your business than goes out, whereas companies with negative cash flow see the opposite happen.

Free cash flow indicates the amount left over after covering all expenses for a particular financial period. Businesses can hold these funds for issues that may arise or invest them back into the company. Ventures with high free cash flow are generally quite profitable and on a solid financial path.

12. Cash Flow Projections

Cash flow projections help estimate the money expected to move into and out of your business. Unplanned expenses aside, you can use accounts receivable and payable to get an idea of any additional cash your company has to play with once you’ve paid the bills.

Items such as rent and employee salaries typically remain the same, providing a solid baseline for cash flow out of the business. Past months often serve as a guideline for costs due to materials or income from sales. You can use this data to project trends that reveal whether you’re paying too much or have funds to reinvest.

13. Depreciation

Your pieces of equipment will feel wear and tear over time, and each will eventually reach the end of its useful life. You can use depreciation to track the reduction in the cost of expensive items through their lifespan in a quantifiable way. Few assets, like land, appreciate in value over time instead.

An illustration on depreciation

There are a few different methods for calculating depreciation. You have some control over depreciating your items, but the most common approach is a constant amount over its life cycle. However, it is also possible to adjust the value based on workload or at a varying rate.

14. Gross Profit

Gross profit is a measure of your company’s remaining earnings after removing the cost of goods sold from your revenue. It is an indication of the income left over after factoring out any expense necessary to sell your product or service. You’ll need to consider manufacturing costs, labor, raw materials, transportation, and even marketing as part of your total expenses.

Studying your gross profit numbers can help determine where funds are going in the sales process. You’ll have a better idea of how efficient your systems are and may indicate areas in need of improvement.

15. Income Statement

Your business’s income statement closely looks at your bottom line, revealing how much you’ve earned and spent over a particular period. With a careful focus on incoming revenue and outgoing expenses, the statement is a great way to visualize profit or loss. Obviously, it’s a good show to see numbers indicating more money comes in than goes out.

In addition to the information it provides you, other entities use income statements to see how viable your business has become. Investors love to see this document when deciding whether to invest capital into your business.

16. KPI

KPI stands for key performance indicators and is a general term for the guidelines you and others use to measure your business. These measurable values allow you to keep tabs on all areas of your company. You can see where you’re doing well and also areas in need of some improvement.

Each KPI should relate to a specific business outcome. As you begin planning out your KPIs, ask yourself which objectives mean the most to you at your current stage. By tracking the metric each cycle, you can gauge whether current initiatives are working as planned.

Common examples include gross profit, churn rate, and customer acquisition cost. 

17. LTV

LTV constitutes the lifetime value of your customers. In other words, it provides an idea of how much revenue the average customer will generate over the entire time they shop with you. With this information, you can have a better handle on customer needs and how to effectively market your products.

To discover lifetime value, you’ll first need to look at the average monthly revenue from an individual consumer. Dividing that value by churn rate (in percent) will obtain your LTV. As an example, a customer paying $100 per month for a subscription with a churn rate of 10% can expect to earn you $1,000 over time.

18. Liability

Liabilities cover any and all debts your company owes to some other entity. Usually, sums of money can be current (such as accounts payable or wages) or long-term (often business loans or a mortgage). In either case, a liability comes with a legal obligation to make said payment within the appropriate amount of time.

Having a detailed record of your company’s liabilities is key to understanding where your hard-earned funds are going. Keeping an up-to-date balance sheet can help identify unnecessary liabilities that can instead become free cash flow.

19. Liquidity

Everything within your business holds some sort of cash value. Liquidity indicates the ease and quickness you can turn one of those business assets into cash. Having high liquidity allows your company a measure of financial flexibility in the event a need for funds arises. Those with low liquidity may not have the means to drum up quickly in an emergency situation.

Having a good amount of liquidity points directly to the health of your business. It may not be wise to hold onto too much cash lest you miss out on growth opportunities or decisive investments. Being able to access what you need when you need it is a vital feature for any business.

20. Customer Lifetime Value

While all customers are great, they aren’t all equal. For example, one customer can consistently return to your business to purchase additional items. On the other hand, another customer may only purchase from your business once. For this reason, the first customer has a higher lifetime value than the second customer.

Customer lifetime value (CLV) is the total dollar amount a customer spends on your business or products. Since it costs less to keep existing customers than it is to acquire new ones, increasing your CLV is an excellent way to drive profitability and growth. 

By comparing your CLV to customer acquisition costs, you can quickly estimate a customer’s profitability and long-term business sustainability. 

21. Retention

As you just learned with CLV, retaining existing customers is crucial for sustainable growth. It’s typically cheaper to get existing customers to make repeat purchases than to find new customers. Retention, or customer retention, is a business metric that measures customer loyalty and the ability of a company to keep its customers over time. 

This is important because it helps you identify loyal customers and predict repurchase behavior, customer satisfaction, and customer engagement. Therefore, customer retention is a strategy that involves increasing a company’s repeat customer rate and extracting additional value from those shoppers. 

The overall goal of retention is to make sure a customer makes additional purchases, is happy with your product or service, and does not run to a competitor.

22. Run Rate

Whenever businesses talk about run rates, they extrapolate data from one time period to make predictions about a more extended period of time. In general, companies use run rates to see what a key performance indicator like revenue or profits would be for a year, using data from a quarter or month.

For example, you can calculate your annual run rate based on quarterly data by multiplying by four. The same can be done by multiplying the monthly run rate by 12. However, the primary issue with run rate is the underlying assumption that current conditions will extend throughout the forecast period. 

Therefore, you should use run rate with a grain of salt for future financial projections.

23. Annual Percentage Rate

The annual percentage rate (APR) is the yearly interest rate charged on loans, including fees such as broker fees, closing fees, and discount points. APR differs from interest rates because interest rates don’t consider the additional fees associated with a loan. Therefore, the APR is always greater than or equal to the nominal interest rate. 

Since APR is more inclusive of all the fees involved with a loan, it paints a clearer picture of the total borrowing costs of a loan. You should pay close attention to the APR when deciding which lender you want to borrow money from because it describes the actual cost of financing.

24. Business Credit Report

A business credit report contains a snapshot of the financial health of a business. It typically includes the company’s background information, financial profile, banking history, liens, and legal filings. The business credit report also consists of a credit score, indicating your business’s creditworthiness and the risk level taken by future creditors. 

Therefore, creditors use business credit reports to assess the risk they take if they offer your business a loan or credit card. It’s also important to note that business credit reports are public information for anyone to access. The three primary credit bureaus conducting business credit reports are Equifax, Experian, and Dun & Bradstreet.

25. Collateral

Collateral is a specific item of value or monetary amount a lender can seize from a borrower if he or she cannot repay the loan according to the agreed-upon terms. 

Collateral illustration

With a home mortgage, the bank typically asks the borrower to provide their home as collateral. This means that if the borrower fails to comply with the repayment terms of the mortgage, the bank has the right to take ownership of the home.

The bank can sell the home to recoup the money lent to the borrower since they failed to meet the repayment terms. Therefore, collateral acts as a guarantee that the lender can receive their money back even if the borrower does not repay the loan. 

26. Credit Limit

A credit limit defines the maximum amount of credit a financial institution or lender can extend to a client on a line of credit or credit card. Lenders typically set credit limits based on the borrower’s credit score and credit report. The lender may also examine your personal income, loan repayment history, and other financial information.

Furthermore, lenders usually give high-risk borrowers with low credit scores lower credit limits because they lack the reputation to repay the debt. On the other hand, low-risk borrowers receive higher credit limits, providing more spending flexibility.

27. Debt Consolidation

Debt consolidation is when you combine multiple debts into a single payment. Businesses use debt consolidation to get a lower overall interest rate which helps reduce the total debt. Furthermore, debt consolidation helps to reorganize multiple bills, making the payback process much more manageable and efficient. 

It’s a good idea to consider debt consolidation if you have good credit and qualify for low-interest rate debt consolidation loans. Also, you can deploy debt consolidation if your monthly debt payments don’t exceed 50% of your monthly gross income. This way, you have consistent cash flow to cover debt payments.

28. Debt Service Coverage Ratio

A debt service coverage ratio (DSCR) measures a company’s available cash flow to pay current debt obligations. Investors view a company’s DSCR to see if it has enough cash flow to repay its debts. 

In essence, the debt-to-service coverage ratio indicates a company’s financial health, especially businesses that are levered and carry a lot of debt. The ratio measures a business’s total debt obligations to its operating income.

DSCR = Net Operating Income / Total Debt Service

You can calculate net operating income by subtracting certain operating expenses (COE) from revenue. The total debt service is a company’s current debt obligation.

29. Debt Financing

Whenever a company borrows money to be repaid at a future date with interest, it’s known as debt financing. It can be in the form of a secured or unsecured loan. If a business needs funds, there are three ways to obtain them: take on debt, sell equity, or a combination of the two.

If the company chooses debt financing, it sells fixed income securities such as bonds, notes, or bills to investors to acquire the money needed to grow its operations. 

In essence, debt financing is the use of a bond issuance or loan to obtain funding for a company. Companies use debt financing to buy assets, acquire other entities, or obtain additional working capital. 

30. Equity Financing

As the inverse of debt financing, equity financing is when companies raise capital by selling shares. Companies deploy equity financing when they have a short-term need to pay off expenses or a long-term goal of growing the business with additional capital. 

Furthermore, equity financing can come from several sources. For instance, businesses can raise money through investors, friends and family, or an initial public offering. Equity financing is different from debt financing because debt financing involves borrowing money. On the contrary, equity financing involves selling a portion of the equity in the business.

31. FICO Score

A FICO score is a credit score determined by the Fair Isaac Corporation (FICO). Lenders use a customer’s FICO score with other financial reports to evaluate credit risk and decide whether to extend credit. The FICO score uses payment history, types of credit used, new credit accounts, length of credit history, and the current level of indebtedness to establish creditworthiness.

Simply put, lenders use FICO credit scores to quantify and evaluate a person’s creditworthiness. For example, FICO scores are used in over 90% of mortgage application decisions in the US. Furthermore, companies can improve their credit scores by using less than 30% of available credit, paying expenses on time, and having a combination of different types of credit.

FICO scores range from 300 to 850, with scores ranging from 670 to 739 considered to be “good” FICO credit scores.

32. Financial Statements

Financial statements are a group of summary-level reports about a company’s financial management. They include a company’s income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows.

A balance sheet delivers an overview of a company’s assets, liabilities, and shareholders’ equity as a snapshot in time. The income statement provides a picture of a company’s revenues and expenses over a fixed time period. Lastly, the cash flow statement measures if the company is able to generate enough cash to pay its debt obligations, fund additional investments, or fund its operating expenses. 

Investors, creditors, and market analysts use financial statements to evaluate a company’s financial performance and earnings potential. 

33. Fixed Interest Rate

A fixed interest rate means you have to pay an unchanging amount of interest on a loan or line of credit. This means your loan’s interest rate won’t fluctuate over the lifetime of your loan. Therefore, you know exactly how much each monthly payment is and how much it will cost to cover your total loan based on the fixed interest rate.

The primary benefit of a fixed-rate loan is knowing that unpredictable market conditions won’t impact your loan. You can typically find fixed interest rates with student loans, mortgages, auto loans, credit cards, and home equity loans. 

34. Floating Interest Rate

A floating interest rate, also known as a variable interest rate, is the opposite of a fixed interest rate. By definition, a floating interest rate changes periodically based on current economic or financial market conditions and typically moves in tandem with a specific index or benchmark.

These interest rates are usually carried by credit card issuers and are commonly seen with mortgage loans. The best time to take on a loan with a floating interest rate is when you perceive that the base rate will either stay consistent or reduce over time. As such, your loan’s interest will either stay the same or decrease. 

35. Interest Rate

Unlike the annual percentage rate, the interest rate is the percentage you pay to borrow money from a lender for a certain time period. While the APR includes all the fees associated with the loan, the interest rate is the sole percentage of the principal paid to the lender to borrow money, and it doesn’t include all the fees you pay for the loan.

The fees not calculated with the interest rate include discount points, origination fees, broker fees, underwriting fees, and mortgage insurance premiums. This is why APR is often higher than the interest rate.

An illustration on interest rate

36. Invoice Factoring or Financing

Invoice factoring and invoice financing are alike and often used interchangeably. Also known as accounts receivable financing, invoice factoring involves the sale of unpaid invoices to another organization. The organizations that purchase unpaid invoices are known as factors, lenders, or factoring companies.

Similarly, invoice financing involves borrowing money against outstanding accounts receivable. A lender provides a portion of your unpaid invoices upfront, in the form of a line of credit or loan. After the client pays your invoice, you pay the lender back the amount loaned along with fees and interest. 

Small businesses that need help managing cash flow issues or covering short-term expenses should consider using invoice factoring or invoice financing. 

37. Lien

A lien is a formal and legal declaration that your company owes money to another entity. This could be a bank, lender, or other company. Although it’s similar to collateral, a lien is a legal filing that gives a lender the right to your property or assets if you fail to honor the repayment terms. Therefore, you can get rid of a lien by paying off the debt or filing for bankruptcy. 

The asset itself is what’s known as the collateral, and the lien is the legal right for the lender to take possession if the borrower fails to repay the loan. As such, liens and collateral go hand-in-hand in loan agreements. Different types of liens include tax, consensual, judgment, and mechanic’s liens. 

38. Line of Credit

A business line of credit (LOC) is a set borrowing limit a borrower can withdraw on at any time the line of credit is open. For example, if a lender extends a $10,000 line of credit, you can borrow up to $10,000. If you borrow $5,000, you can only borrow another $5,000. This means you have to pay back the initial amount before you can continue borrowing.

The lender sets the payment timings, size of payments, and interest rates. Furthermore, some lines of credit let you write checks, while others include a debit or credit card. 

The main benefit of a line of credit is its built-in flexibility. Although you have a fixed maximum borrowing limit, you don’t have to use it all. Instead, you can borrow on an as-needed basis based on current expenses and operating expenditures.

39. Loan-to-Value

The loan-to-value (LTV) ratio is a financial metric that compares the borrowed money to the market price of the asset being bought. Financial institutions and other lenders use LTV ratios to assess lending risk before approving a mortgage. Generally, loan assessments with a high LTV ratio are considered high-risk loans.

Although lower LTVs are more optimal for lenders, they require borrowers to come up with larger down payments to offset the lower interest rates. 

LTV Ratio = Mortgage Amount / Appraised Property Value

40. Long-Term Debt

In accounting, long-term debt refers to an organization’s loans and other liabilities that won’t be due within one year of the balance sheet date. For example, let’s say your company has a mortgage loan with a principal balance of $200,000 with 120 monthly payments remaining. This means your loan payments due in the next 12 months include $12,000 of principal payments.

On the balance sheet, $188,000 of the $200,000 mortgage loan should be filed as a long-term debt or noncurrent liability. You should report the other $12,000 as a current liability. If all or a portion of the long-term debt comes due within one year, the value will move to the current liabilities section on the balance sheet, classified as the current portion of long-term debt.

41. Merchant Cash Advance

Small businesses use merchant cash advances (MCA) as an alternative to traditional bank loans. With a merchant cash advance, borrowers receive an upfront lump sum from a merchant cash advance provider, and the borrower then repays the advance with a percentage of the company’s sales.

Merchant cash advances offer fast access to cash and flexible repayment terms without needing to put up collateral. You can also get approved for a merchant cash advance without strong credit or a lot of paperwork. However, you likely need to pay higher interest rates for the convenience of the merchant cash advance. 

Merchant cash advances are only available for businesses that process credit cards for payments. This is because the funding provider gets paid back by taking a portion of your future credit card sales. 

42. Microloan

Microloans are small loans typically up to $50,000 lenders issue to small businesses. These small business loans usually have short repayment terms and varying interest rates depending on the situation. 

Microloans are helpful for startups and businesses facing challenges with credit access. In addition, you can use a microloan to pay for anything your business needs, such as new equipment or operating costs.

Furthermore, you can find microloans from several organizations, including the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), Small Business Administration (SBA), and other online or alternative lenders. 

43. Principal

In any loan or investment, the principal is the original sum of money borrowed or deployed. For example, the principal is the initial size of a loan or bond in the context of borrowing. In terms of investing, the principal is the original amount committed to purchasing the assets. 

If you take out a $100,000 mortgage, the principal is $100,000. After you pay off $50,000, the principal balance is the remaining $50,000. Furthermore, the principal dictates how much interest you pay on the loan. Whenever you make monthly payments on a loan, the money first goes toward accrued interest. Then, the remaining balance is applied to the principal.

44. Return on Investment (ROI) 

As one of the most commonly used financial metrics in business, return on investment evaluates the performance of an investment. It’s expressed as a percentage and calculated by dividing an investment’s net profit by its original cost.

ROI = (Current Value of Investment – Cost of Investment) / Cost of Investment

For example, let’s say you invest $10,000 into a new business venture and generate $20,000 of profit. Using the formula above, the ROI of this new business venture is 200%. Companies use ROI to compare different investment opportunities and analyze the performance of current investments. 

45. Secured Loan

Secured loans are personal or business loans that require some form of collateral as a borrowing condition. This collateral typically includes physical assets such as vehicles and property or liquid assets such as cash. For example, if you get a mortgage for a home, the loan is secured by the property you’re purchasing. The same can be said with a car loan. 

Therefore, if you fail to meet the repayment conditions, the lender can seize the collateral used to secure the loan. In a mortgage loan, this involves initiating a foreclosure proceeding. The lender would auction off the home and use the proceeds to pay the required amount on the defaulted mortgage.

46. Term Loan

Term loans provide a one-time lump sum payment you can use for personal and business expenses. For this reason, term loans are an excellent choice for both short and long-term financing obligations. 

With a term loan, the lender provides the one-time lump sum payment, and you repay the loan with interest over the specified time period. Your specific interest rate can be fixed or variable, depending on the loan terms. 

Furthermore, term loans are secured borrowings, meaning you must put up assets as collateral against payment to ensure payments are made on time. More importantly, term loans may be challenging to qualify for and require rigorous approval. 

47. Unsecured Loans

While secure loans require collateral, unsecured loans do not. Rather than relying on collateral, lenders approve unsecured loans based on the borrower’s creditworthiness. Therefore, unsecured loans are riskier than secured loans for lenders and require higher credit scores for approval.

If the borrower defaults on the unsecured loan, the lender can commission a collection agency to collect the debt or take the borrower to court. Unsecured loans include student loans, personal loans, and most credit cards. In addition, these loans tend to have higher interest rates than secured loans because of the greater level of risk involved. 

48. Employer Identification Number (EIN) 

An employer identification number is a unique nine-digit number, formatted as XX-XXXXXXX, given to a company. The Internal Revenue Service uses employer identification numbers to identify business entities for tax reporting purposes. Therefore, all businesses that meet a specific criteria need an EIN before they can begin operations. 

The employer identification number is also known as a Federal Tax Identification Number. You must have an EIN if you have employees, operate as a partnership or corporation, file certain tax returns, or withhold taxes from income other than wages. 

49. Net Worth

Net worth is the sum of all an individual’s or corporation’s owned assets minus the liabilities they owe. Assets include cash in your business checking or savings account, stocks and bonds, an ownership stake in a company, and property. Liabilities include a credit card balance, student loan balance, or mortgage balance.

Companies use net worth to provide a snapshot of their current financial health in business. Net worth is also known as book value or shareholders’ equity. 

50. Retained Earnings

Retained earnings is an important accounting concept that measures a business’s cumulative net earnings or profits after deducting dividend payments. In other words, it’s the amount of net income left after a company pays out dividends to its shareholders.

Companies focused on rapid growth have high retained earnings as they may not pay much or any dividends. This way, these companies can reinvest the retained earnings in further growth and expansion. Retained earnings is a powerful financial metric because it helps assess a company’s financial health.

Learn From Scratch!

No one enters the business world with complete knowledge of every business term needed to ultimately succeed. While some may be further along than others, there are so many aspects of business you can only grasp as you begin the process of building your own company. Whatever your business literacy is, it’s never too late to start learning the words and phrases you can use to obtain your goals.

Conversely, your chances of making it as a business owner are slim to none without an understanding of the many business statistics terms that cover the business landscape. As soon as you can, start learning the words and phrases you don’t know so you’ll be ready when you need them most.

If you’re striving to start a business without an iota of financial sense, that’s okay too. Start learning the most important business statistics terms from scratch as quickly as possible so you don’t drown along the way.

Tips to Have a Successful Start

There’s no cookie-cutter method for starting out a business. These tips can help provide the groundwork you’ll need to get up and running.

Tips to have a successful start

1. Do Your Homework

Starting a business without careful research is a recipe for disaster. You need to learn the market you hope to sell in and what your potential customers are looking for. Above all else, having a thorough understanding of key business statistics terms can provide a stable foundation to stand on when starting out. 

If you’re stuck on the initial product or service offering, a few trending types of businesses include the mental health and cyber security niches. 

2. Get Organized

There’s a lot going on in a new business, and it can be hard to figure out where to begin. You won’t get far if you’re unable to stay organized. Create a list of tasks you need to tackle and mark things off as you accomplish them. Having this sense of direction should keep you focused and less stressed.

3. Keep Detailed Records

It’s essential to make note of every transaction, expense, customer concern, and which things are working well. This way, it’s easy to see at a glance how you’re doing financially and possibly detect issues before they occur.

4. Follow the Money

Your balance sheet and income statement are two great sources you can use to see how money moves through your business. It goes without saying that more should be coming in than going out, but having line-by-line expenses can reveal unnecessary expenses or ways to boost income. These documents can also provide good insight into the health of your business.

5. Measure Important Metrics

Numbers don’t lie. Creating metrics to track things like customer churn rate can clarify a gap in your marketing strategy or a price point that turns shoppers away. You can similarly watch profits to ensure numbers are moving in the right direction.

6. Provide Memorable Service

There needs to be something memorable about your business that will draw customers in and keep them coming back for more. For the amount you spend to obtain a single customer, you want to maximize the return on investment you’ll receive down the road.

The 7 Best Always-Free CRM Software for Small Businesses

Hand arranging white letters to spell CRM

Managing a relationship with a customer requires far more than just remembering birthdays and previous purchases. The right CRM software can handle all the details and dates, leaving your sales agents free to focus on developing leads and making sales process. This article covers the best free CRM software for small businesses available now.

Quick View

Our Methodology

When picking the best free customer relationship management software, we looked at the number of users each lets you have and lead management tools for tracking current and prospective clients. It was also important to discover automation tools that facilitate daily tasks like chatting and sending out emails.

Finally, we studied each company’s support structure and the costs of upgrading to paid plans in the future. Check out a more detailed explanation of our methodology here.

Software

Number of Users

Paid Plan Availability

Lead Management

Automation Tools

Support

Unlimited

Starting at $45/month

Email templates and tracking, landing pages, web forms, some limited calling

Automated contacts and responses, chatbots for lead generation, ticket sales pipeline

Community support

Unlimited

Starting at $15/user per month

Chatbots for website, customizable contact lifecycle, contact timeline, make calls from app

Few automation features, including chatbots

Phone, chat, and email support 24/5

3

Starting at $14/user per month

Track website traffic, web forms, templates for email marketing, sale analytics

Five custom workflow automations

Support docs, email and community support

10

Starting at $8.99/user per month

Lead scoring, email tracking, contact profiles, landing pages

Limited automation triggers, limited API calls

Support docs, training sessions, email support

2

Starting at $29/user per month

Visualize leads with kanban, mass emailing, email templates, duplicate detection

2 roles and permissions, 2 configurable profiles

Email support and community forums

15

Starting at $11.99/user per month

Landing pages, lead scoring, deal segmentation and milestones, task reminders

Form builder, customer segmentation, auto-responders

Help docs and videos, email and chat support

Unlimited

Starting at $39/month for 5 users

Custom info fields, social media management, build and host website, unlimited contacts

Limited automation options

Help docs and chat support

The Best Free CRM Software for Small Businesses

There are several free CRM software options out there, but they’re not all created equally. Here are the seven best CRM software that stand out to us the most for their free plans.

HubSpot logo

HubSpot CRM – Best Overall Free CRM

Number of Users: Unlimited

4.8

HubSpot makes it easy for businesses of any size to set up CRM with an unlimited number of users and up to one million contacts. Among its many features is a chat builder to customize your first point of contact. There’s no space for workflow automation in the free version of this software, and the only customer support you’ll receive comes from the community forum. Should you wish to upgrade to a paid version, expect to pay a good amount of money to do so.

Why we chose it: HubSpot CRM has the tools to let you build a robust customer interface for unlimited users without having to shell out a single penny.

  • Unlimited number of users
  • Up to 1 million contacts
  • Chatbot builder
  • No workflow automation
  • Expensive pricing tiers
  • Customer support limited to community forum

Number of Users

HubSpot CRM doesn’t place limits on the number of users for its free software. There’s no need to pick and choose who to give access to, a common problem with Zoho or Insightly.

Paid Plan Availability

The lowest paid tier starts at $45 each month and goes up from there depending on the tools and number of contacts you’re looking for. Paid plans remove a lot of HubSpot branding and add helpful tools like automation to the mix. 

Lead Management

You can use HubSpot’s lead management tools to create landing pages, web forms, email templates, and more. There are even some limited calling options your team can take advantage of. These offerings are fairly similar to Zoho, but Insightly adds in impressive kanban charting.

Automation Tools

It’s not possible to set up any workflow automation with HubSpot’s free version. Still, you can automate responses to contacts and even set up a chatbot to interact with customers visiting your site. These features pale in comparison to Zoho’s automation tools.

Support

HubSpot offers little in the way of support with its free version. In fact, you can only turn to the community forum for answers if you get stuck somewhere along the way. While Insightly does something similar, Freshsales gives even free members phone, chat, and email support.

Freshsales logo

Freshsales – Best Free CRM for Customer Support

Number of Users: Unlimited

4.7

Freshsales – Best Free CRM for Customer Support Review

Among Freshsales many free features are built-in phone and chat support for interacting with your clientele. With an unlimited number of users and contacts, you don’t have to limit access to your team, nor do you have to pick and choose which customers to focus on. Best of all, you can resolve any issues on your end by contacting Freshsales 24 hours a day during the work week. Of the features it does have, you won’t have access to automated processes, reporting tools, or document storage.

Why we chose it: Unlimited users, contacts, and 24/5 customer support all make Freshsales a CRM worth considering.

  • 24/5 customer support
  • Built-in chat and phone for communicating with clients
  • Unlimited users and contacts
  • No reporting tools
  • No automated processes
  • No document storage

Number of Users

There’s no need to worry about the size of your CRM team with Freshsales. Like HubSpot and Bitrix24, you can have an unlimited number of users accessing your account at any time.

Paid Plan Availability

It will cost you $15 per user each month to tap into Freshsales’ premium features, and the prices increase from there. Fees can quickly get out of hand if not careful, especially when HubSpot charges a flat rate per account.

Lead Management

Freshsales has built-in call capability and customizable chatbots to engage interested customers. You can also monitor contact interest over time to see who your best customers are.

Automation Tools

Other than website chatbots, Freshsales doesn’t have much in the way of automation. This feels like a miss when Zoho’s automation tools do so much.

Support

The customer support team at Freshsales is a breath of fresh air. Even as a free user, you have access to the group by phone, email, or chat at all times during the work week. This is a huge blessing when HubSpot and Insightly offer nothing beyond help docs or a community forum.

Zoho CRM logo

Zoho Free CRM – Best Free CRM for Automation

Number of Users: 3

4.6

Zoho’s free CRM software includes several workflow tools for automating redundant processes. You can also customize web pages to a certain extent with the hope of drawing in new customers. The multipurpose digital contact book is perfect for logging current and prospective clients within your account.

It may be challenging to pick just three users to access the CRM software, and they can only send 150 automated email notifications each day. There’s also no way within the free version to send mass emails.

Why we chose it: Those with knowledge of automation can use Zoho’s automation and customization features to set themselves apart from the competition. As one of the best CRM software for ecommerce, its free plan can do wonders for new online businesses.

  • Workflow rules and automated email notifications
  • Page customization options
  • Multipurpose digital contact book
  • Only three users allowed
  • 150 automated email notifications per day
  • Impossible to send mass emails

Number of Users

For all Zoho has, it falls short on the number of max users in its free account, capping out at three. Make sure those three users can make the most of Zoho’s automation software. Both HubSpot and Bitrix24 don’t place a maximum on the number of users you can have.

Paid Plan Availability

Paid plans are somewhat reasonable, starting at $14 per user each month and increasing from there. The amount isn’t much different from what Freshsales or Engagebay have to offer.

Lead Management

Zoho lets you track website traffic and view sale analytics over various lengths of time. You’ll also be able to build web forms and templates for outgoing emails. It’s important to mention here that it’s the best CRM for real estate.

Automation Tools

With the free version alone, you can build up to five unique workflow automations to perform mundane tasks and lessen the load on your team. Zoho’s automation tools are second to none, especially considering CRMs like Bitrix24 don’t offer any.

Support

You’ll find plenty of support docs and a strong community support team if you sign up for Zoho. While you can email the company with questions, response times are often quite slow. Freshsales gives 24/5 phone, email, and chat support whether you’re paying for the service or not.

Agile CRM logo

Agile CRM – Best Free CRM for Email Marketing

Number of Users: 10

4.5

With Agile CRM, you can send out up to 5,000 emails with your own branding to entice consumers. You can generate an unlimited number of tasks, documents, and deals to market yourself on your website. Speaking of websites, Agile allows you to build your own alongside forms and emails. Your account is limited to only ten users, and the free version caps at 1,000 contacts. Although there’s a lot you can customize, Agile CRM doesn’t have many automation tools.

Why we chose it: Agile CRM gives teams the opportunity to express themselves through branded emailing and customization tools for emails, forms, and websites.

  • 5,000 branded emails per month
  • Unlimited deals, tasks, documents
  • Form, email, website builder
  • Limited to 10 users
  • Only 1,000 contacts
  • Minimal automation tools

Number of Users

You can add up to ten users to your Agile CRM setup, which isn’t a bad number for free CRM software. After all, Insightly gives access to just two users on its free account. However, HubSpot and Freshsales allow an unlimited number of users.

Paid Plan Availability

Agile CRM’s Starter plan costs as low as $8.99 per user each month, adding several features and increasing your contact pool to 10,000. This is one of the best-priced user-based plans, with Zoho and Freshsales coming in at $14 and $15 respectively.

Lead Management

You can build leads in Agile CRM through several customizable features, including branded emails and a website builder. It’s also possible to create contact profiles and track the results of emails you send out.

Automation Tools

Agile CRM allows you to build one API trigger in its free package, but all other automation tools cost money to access. While not bad, one trigger doesn’t look like much next to Zoho’s five.

Support

The service will point you toward its website for support, where you’ll find help documents and training tools. There’s an email support team for additional questions, but these options don’t hold a candle to Freshsales’ 24/5 customer service tools.

Insightly_logo

Insightly – Best Free CRM for Lead Generation

Number of Users: 2

4.5

Insightly uses kanban charts and other client tracking tools to discover what customers are looking for when shopping online. These tools cover social media as well, maximizing potential clients from every available avenue. The software connects seamlessly with over 250 programs, bringing over contact information and streamlining data entry. You’ll have to do all this with just two users in the free version and minimal automation tools to share the work. Support only comes in the form of email support or community insight.

Why we chose it: Insightly has the best tools for generating leads that can turn into clients and profits for your business.

  • Several lead generation tools
  • Over 250 business integrations
  • Automatic social profile enrichment
  • Only for two users
  • Minimal automation tools
  • Limited access to customer support

Number of Users

It hurts to think that only two users can use most of everything Insightly has to offer. You’ll have to pay to bring more team members into your account, where Freshsales and HubSpot feature an unlimited number of users out of the gate.

Paid Plan Availability

Insightly has one of the pricier plans, starting at $29 per user on a monthly basis. This feels like a steep rise, especially since Agile CRM’s first paid tier starts at $8.99.

Lead Management

You’ll find a large number of lead management tools, such as mass emailing with templates, duplicate detection, lead visualization, and kanban charting. The software compliments lead management with a laundry list of integrations.

Automation Tools

Within Insightly’s dashboard, you can control read/write permissions and set granular roles for your two users. Several other tools are available at the Professional level.

Support

At the free level, Insightly makes available email support and community forums for those wanting answers fast. Freshsales still sets the bar here with unlimited support during the week.

EngageBay logo

Engagebay – Best Free CRM for Ease of Use

Number of Users: 15

4.2

Engagebay prides itself on a simple interface and marketing editors anyone can use to maximize CRM output. The software lets you brand emails with your company’s logo to personalize outgoing messages. You won’t have much luck with third-party integrations, and some templates miss the mark on modernity. If you find yourself in a jam, Engagebay’s free version doesn’t offer a phone number for support.

Why we chose It: Engagebay has a generous limit for users and lots of important features wrapped up in an easy-to-use format.

  • Intuitive interface
  • Branded emails
  • Easy to use marketing editors
  • Minimal third-party integrations
  • Outdated templates
  • No phone support

Number of Users

Apps like HubSpot and Freshsales don’t limit the number of users, but Engagebay’s cap at 15 is still plenty for smaller businesses. Those nearing the threshold will either need to upgrade or consider another option.

Paid Plan Availability

Paid plans start at $11.99 per user, billed monthly. Other top free CRMs such as HubSpot immediately jump to a much higher $45 per month from its free service. With Engagebay, you’ll have three tiers of service to pick from as your needs expand.

Lead Management

Even in its free version, Engagebay lets you build landing pages and perform predictive lead scoring. You can create milestones and segment deals to facilitate workloads. The app can also send task reminders if things start falling by the wayside.

Automation Tools

You won’t find much in the way of automation, but Engagebay does allow users to build forms and segment customers for easier tracking. Auto-responders can come to the rescue when you need your team to focus on other areas. Compared to Zoho, these tools are just a drop in the bucket.

Support

Engagebay does have help docs and videos peppered throughout its site, and if you really get stuck, email and chat support are available to help. This support is better than most but still pales to Freshsales and its top-tier service.

Bitrix24 logo

Bitrix24 – Best Free CRM for Sales Teams

Number of Users: Unlimited

4.6

Bitrix24 stands out with powerful collaborative tools to help teams function as cohesively as possible. Sales teams can work efficiently to connect with an unlimited number of contacts both through traditional means and social media as well. With the free version, you won’t find analytics tools or customer support to help if you’re in a pinch. Newer users do tend to struggle through a complex user interface.

Why we chose it: Social media features and collaborative tools make Bitrix24 a great option for an active sales team.

  • Collaborative tools
  • Free connection to social media
  • Unlimited users and contacts
  • No analytics tools
  • Somewhat challenging UI to navigate
  • No customer support

Number of Users

You can add as many users into your Bitrix24 account as you deem necessary, whether one or one thousand. HubSpot has a similar offering, but CRMs like Insightly and Zoho limit you to just a handful of users.

Paid Plan Availability

Bitrix24’s first paid tier of service costs $39, which includes up to five users. You’ll have to spend $159 to unlock all features and get back to unlimited users. This strange setup is somewhat similar to HubSpot’s price per plan.

Lead Management

Bitrix24 has a hub for social media management and interaction, ensuring you don’t miss out on potential customers from those areas. Other included tools allow you to build and host your own website and track an infinite number of contacts.

Automation Tools

The CRM software falls a bit short in the automation department, lacking tools to build workflow automation or software-based communications with clients. On the other hand, Zoho’s free CRM software allows five custom automations.

Support

Like Agile CRM, Bitrix24 forces you to rely on help docs and the community for support should you encounter an issue. You can forward questions to the Bitrix24 team, but don’t expect a quick response to your query.

Choosing the Best Free CRM for a Small Business – Ranking Methodology

Several factors go into making a free CRM the best out there. Check out those we considered when making our choices below.

An image of best free crm software with dollar coin,search bar.
  • Number of Users: Whether you have a small business or a large one, you’ll want to maximize what your team can do when it comes to bringing in new customers. When choosing a CRM, small businesses should consider costs for scaling as growth occurs, making sure you don’t get pigeonholed into something you can’t afford. Large businesses need to ensure you can add the number of team members you want into your system.
  • Lead Management: CRM software should help you focus your time where it will be most beneficial while handling basic contact management. Free CRM options often limit the contact records you can store, which can put a limit on your ability to manage customer relationships. Be sure to check the number of contacts you need for your system and ensure the avenues you access most are easy to use and meet your needs.
  • Automation: Automation can take repetitive tasks off your teams’ plates, freeing them up for more specific tasks. Having automated emails or even a chatbot can streamline customer connections and bring shoppers back for more.
  • Support: Don’t underestimate the power of a good support team when things aren’t going as planned. Understanding your website and trends therein can spell the difference between success and failure. If you can’t access this information, having support nearby can save countless dollars in the long run.
  • Reporting: Reports are one of the most important tools in project management, helping to pinpoint problems and opportunities. Most free CRMs come with some limited reporting, including website visitor tracking and conversion statistics.
  • Paid Plans: Free CRM software is a great place to start out, but it’s rare to see a business stay within the realm of what free software can offer for long. Be sure to have a plan to upgrade down the road, noting available future features as well as costs.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Best Always-free CRM

There’s understandably a lot of confusion surrounding customer relationship management software and everything packed within. The answers below should shed some light on the most popular questions on the topic.

Conclusion

Free CRM software is an excellent starting point for businesses looking to better understand customer relationships and retention. The downside is that you have to be able to work within certain limits and perhaps not have all the features you need at your fingertips. Each app included in our list offers incredible tools to help take your venture to the next level of growth, with plenty of opportunities to expand down the road.

What Is the Retail Inventory Method? Definition, Formula & Calculator

Retail inventory manager looking at an inventory illustration on a PC

The retail inventory method is an accounting procedure that estimates the value of a retail store’s merchandise. This method produces the ending inventory balance for a store by calculating the cost of inventory relative to the price of the goods. In short, it’s one of the most common ways to calculate the value of your stock.

What Is the Retail Inventory Method?

You can use the retail inventory method to quickly estimate the value of your ending inventory over a given time period. 

Since inventory is the bread and butter of your retail store, you likely have a lot of capital tied to your stock. Therefore, it makes sense to keep track of your inventory so you can make effective decisions when it comes to what to order, what to invest in, and when to carry more products.

Although there are many ways to estimate the value of your stock, the retail inventory method is one of the most common and efficient techniques. This method works by taking the total retail value of all the products in your inventory, subtracting the total amount of sales, and then multiplying that amount by the cost-to-retail ratio. 

We understand how challenging it is to run a retail store. You have to manage employees, build staff schedules, implement marketing strategies, and keep an accurate count of your store’s inventory to ensure you don’t run out of any products. Furthermore, you must ensure you aren’t losing money on sales by correctly calculating your cost-to-retail ratio.

The best way to guarantee you don’t run out of inventory or lose any money is by mastering the retail inventory method.

Retail Inventory Method Advantages

The main advantage of the retail inventory method is that it saves retailers the time and expense of shutting down temporarily to conduct a physical inventory. Physical inventories are time-consuming and can impact your business’s bottom line.

During physical inventories, you must pay your staff to help while also shutting down your business from outside customers. Although some retailers perform physical inventories at night time, your staff are prone to errors during a spontaneous graveyard shift.

Furthermore, the retail inventory method is part of the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) provided by the American Institute of CPAs. It’s also useful for determining the value of your retail business since this method creates a report on the value of the inventory on hand.

Retail Inventory Method Disadvantages

Although the retail inventory method has a lot of benefits, there are some drawbacks to be aware of. First of all, it’s important to understand that it’s just an estimate and doesn’t account for items that are stolen, broken, or otherwise taken out of inventory for reasons other than a sale.

Furthermore, the retail inventory method works best when the markup is consistent across all your products. If different products carry different markups, the end result won’t be completely accurate.

For example, if your retail clothing shop marks up every item it sells by 70% of the price you get from wholesale distributors, you can accurately use the retail inventory method. However, if you mark up some items by 15%, some by 30%, and some by 60%, it is difficult to apply this accounting method accurately.

Another disadvantage is that large additions of inventory would throw off calculations. For example, this can occur in the event of acquiring another company. 

Who Should Use the Retail Inventory Method

The retail inventory method isn’t suitable for everyone. All retailers are different, and the retail inventory method is an optimal accounting strategy for specific types of retailers.

Those who will find the most value in the retail inventory method tend to be:

  • Retailers with multiple locations since physical inventories are difficult to coordinate for the same time in different locations
  • Retailers who don’t usually have large amounts of inventory in transit since it doesn’t account for those
  • Retailers who are comfortable with estimates that are regularly available on an on-demand basis
  • Retailers who have consistent markups across all their products

How to Calculate the Retail Inventory Method

To calculate your ending inventory value with the retail inventory method, use the following steps:

Step 1: Calculate the Cost-to-Retail Ratio

The first step is determining the cost-to-retail percentage of your retail inventory. The cost-to-retail ratio determines how much your inventory costs in relation to the retail price.

For example, if a sweatshirt costs $15 to manufacture and you sell it for $100, the cost-to-retail ratio is 15%.

Therefore, you can calculate your cost-to-retail ratio with this formula:

  • cost-to-retail ratio = (cost of merchandise / retail price of the merchandise) x 100

Step 2: Calculate the Cost of Merchandise Available for Sale

The next step is to determine the exact time period you will be reporting. Then, you must identify the cost of inventory at the beginning of the time period and the cost of any additional inventory purchases made during the course of that time period.

For example, if your shop had a beginning inventory of $30,000 and then you purchased $10,000 of new inventory during that period, your cost of merchandise available for sale is $40,000.

The formula for this calculation is

  • Cost of merchandise available for sale = cost of beginning inventory + cost of additional inventory

Step 3: Calculate the Cost of Sales During the Time Period

Next, you need the total merchandise sales and cost-to-retail percentage for your chosen time period. You will use these numbers to calculate the cost of sales, which represents the total cost of goods for all the merchandise you sold during the reporting period.

For example, let’s say your cost-to-retail ratio is 15%, and you had sales of $50,000 over your chosen time period. You can multiply your cost-to-retail ratio by your total sales to find your cost of sales was $7,500.

  • Cost of sales = sales during the chosen time period x cost-to-retail percentage

Step 4: Calculate Ending Inventory

Now, you can use the cost of merchandise available for sale and the cost of sales during that period to determine your ending inventory.

Your ending inventory represents the value of merchandise you have available at the end of your reporting period. Once you calculate your ending inventory, you can use it on future balance sheets. However, you must ensure its accuracy if you report your store’s financial information when seeking financing.

  • Ending inventory = cost of merchandise available for sale – cost of sales during the chosen time period

Example of the Retail Inventory Method

Let’s pretend your retail business sells home coffee roasters for an average price of $300 and a cost of goods of $150. As such, your cost-to-retail ratio is 50%. 

In this example, let’s also say your beginning inventory costs $500,000, and you paid $200,000 for purchases during the month. During the same time period, you had sales of $1,000,000.

To calculate your ending inventory value:

How to calculate your ending inventory value:

Beginning inventory

+ $500,000

Purchases

+ $200,000

Goods available for sale

= $700,000

Sales

– $500,000 (Sales of $1,000,000 x 50%)

Ending Inventory

= $200,000

Additional Retail Inventory Method Tips

If you plan to use the retail inventory method for your business, keep the following tips in mind.

1. Always Have Accurate Data Available

The retail inventory method requires you to use certain numbers, including your cost-to-retail ratio, beginning inventory, and sales. To ensure the calculation is efficient and effective, you need to keep accurate numbers available.

Therefore, you should equip your business with a POS (point of sale) and retail management system with strong reporting and analytics capabilities. 

2. Don’t Ditch Physical Inventory Counts

Since the retail inventory method only gives an estimate of your ending inventory value, it’s not the perfect substitute for physically counting and reconciling inventory.

For this reason, we still recommend scheduling physical inventory counts. However, it doesn’t need to be as frequent after integrating the retail inventory method.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Retail Inventory Method

Here are a few common questions retailers have about the retail inventory method.

Bottom Line on Retail Inventory Method

Keep in mind that the retail inventory method is more of an educated guess than a concrete calculation of how much value your ending inventory holds. This method provides directionally accurate answers to give you quick snapshots at any given time. It’s cost-effective, quick, and works best when it’s part of your overall inventory management strategy.

How to Find Wholesale Distributors in 5 Steps

A wholesale distributor taking inventory of his warehouse

If you own a retail or are starting an e-commerce store, finding the right wholesale distributors is the first step toward a successful operation. A wholesale distributor buys many goods directly from manufacturers and resells them to businesses at a low cost. 

Find the Right Wholesale Distributor in 5 Steps

Wholesale distributors can be key partners for your business. But where do you find them – and how will you know you are making the right call?

Wholesale distributor supply chain

When looking for wholesale distributors, there is a lot more than simply searching for provider names on the internet. 

First of all, building a list of potential suppliers is no easy task: it takes time, and standard tools such as Google are, frankly, not enough for qualified research. When searching for wholesale providers, it is important to reach out to the proper channels – which we will soon get into. 

After you’ve listed a few wholesale distributors, you won’t be done yet. There are still several elements to consider to make the right choice, such as product offerings, pricing, geographical access to products, shipping, and much more. 

To make your decision smoother, we’ve listed 5 steps you should take when looking for the best wholesale distributors. 

Step 1: Create a List of Possible Providers 

This might sound like the most obvious step on the list — but it is, in fact, one of the hardest. Crafting such a list takes time, and you must go to the right channels to find the best wholesale distributors. 

The first action that might come to mind when searching for wholesale distributors is Googling a set of keywords on the search page. But sometimes, the results don’t meet your expectations or needs. For more accurate results, we recommend other strategies. So, here are a few ways to access the best wholesale providers.

Contact the Manufacturer of the Product you Wish to Sell 

You are already a step ahead if you already know the product or brand you want to sell in your store or e-commerce website. You can contact the product manufacturer and ask for a list of wholesale distributors that resell their products.

This allows you to offer a highly curated product portfolio instead of simply selling what you can find. Adopting this strategy can set your business aside from the competition and increase your sales significantly. 

Go to Trade Shows to Find the Best Suppliers 

If you don’t know what products to sell or if you are interested in a wider variety of items and brands, visiting a trade show can be a great strategy. During these events, a number of manufacturers, suppliers, brands, and wholesale distributors exhibit their latest products.

It’s a great opportunity to network and make businesses. Further, this is also a great way to see the products for yourself and assure that the quality of the goods meets your expectations. 

Access a Wholesale Distributor Directory 

Finally, you can also access an online directory and find a list of the best wholesale distributors, thus gaining access to various manufacturers across the globe. These marketplaces, such as Alibaba, Handshake, Global Sources, and Tundra connect manufacturers with retailers and e-commerce businesses – some are integrated with the world’s leading e-commerce platform, such as Shopify, which eases the operation as a whole. 

Once you have gone through these channels, you can successfully craft a list of possible wholesale distributors. Then, what’s next? 

Step 2: Check for the Product Offering 

After building your wholesale provider list, it’s time to check what products the suppliers offer. Be sure to request a product catalog that discloses pricing details and the product itself. 

Don’t overlook aspects such as the type of material used on the product, dimensions, and even certifications that assure the product’s quality. Some lower-priced products might seem more appealing but shouldn’t ignore quality. Ensure you have all the details you need before making a large purchase and risk having the product forgotten in stock.

In addition, you should also consider how consistently the wholesale distributors can make their products available so you don’t ever run out of inventory. After all, if the provider faces problems with stock, delivery, or other, this can seriously affect your business as you will not have the products available in your store.

Step 3: Confirm the Geographic Location of the Provider 

You might come across many wholesale distributors located outside of your country of residence. Many distributors in China provide access to a broader set of products. 

However, while committing to a provider outside of your country can give you access to a wider portfolio, you should also remember that buying from a distributor offshore can incur taxation, inspections, and a complex logistical process.

This brings us to our next step…

Step 4: Confirm the Shipping Processes 

Imagine this: you’ve found the right wholesale distributors and built an entire marketing and sales strategy around the products you plan to resell through your retail or e-commerce business. You even designed a launch campaign for a specific collection you will be receiving in your store and invested a ton of money in publicity and advertisement. 

However, your provider has faced shipping issues, and your delivery came late – or didn’t arrive at all! – compromising your strategy and frustrating your clients, eager to shop for your products. 

It sounds like a tragedy, right? 

Shipping is an essential part of a healthy operation, so you must work with a trusted wholesaler committed to delivering on time. Further, also make sure that the products will arrive intact, that is, with no damages whatsoever to the package or the product. 

And if you face any hurdles, be sure to count on reliable customer support – our next step is finding the right wholesale distributor. 

Step 5: Always Look for a Reliable Customer Support 

Customer support plays an essential role in B2B relationships. Usually, times of crisis – such as the scenario described above – are when customer support is most tested. However, we are sure you do not want to wait for a problem to occur to ensure you are provided with proper support.

To avoid being frustrated by customer service, we recommend you test wholesale distributors’ support channels upfront. Try and reach out by phone, e-mail, and chatting and see how long it takes for someone to get back to you. If you do not receive a response in good time, you will probably know what to expect in the future. 

And, bonus tip: you might also want to take the time to read a few reviews on the internet regarding customer support. After all, a word from another customer is priceless  – and can either prevent you from having a bad experience or guide your way into a successful partnership. 

Best Wholesale Distributors for retailers and e-commerce businesses 

If you are on step #1 of finding wholesale distributors, we have gathered a list of providers to help you with your quest. Here are a few suppliers you can start your business with. 

1. Alibaba

Alibaba is a China-based vendor covering multiple categories and over 190 countries. It is one of the largest wholesale distributors in the World – and a highly reliable one, too. 

2. Handshake

Handshake is a wholesale marketplace by Shopify – the World’s leading e-commerce platform. It is the perfect fit for small businesses selling online. It offers Shopify users free shipping on opening orders, low or no minimum orders, and no fees.

3. Global Sources 

Global Sources is a B2B wholesale marketplace with over 10 million registered buyers. It has been around since 1995 and is a trusted wholesale provider. 

4. Tundra

Tundra is an online wholesale marketplace where business owners can pick up large volumes of goods. It is easy to use and a perfect fit for small business owners and e-commerce businesses. 

You can start with a few names on your search for a wholesale supplier. Be sure to go through all five steps before sealing a partnership. 

Why Your Business Should Consider a Wholesale Provider

Working with wholesale distributors helps different types of businesses source the best products while focusing on managing their company, designing sales strategies, and tailoring the best marketing campaigns. Here are some of the main advantages of working with a quality supplier. 

Easy Stock Management 

When working with a wholesale distributor, you can purchase as much stock as you need without worrying about storage space. In addition, you can also quickly restock in case you run out of a specific product. 

Market Trends are Always on Your Roadmap 

Sometimes in retail, it seems like every competitor is selling a different version of the same product. And that’s because they are. 

Some products win over customers’ hearts and become a real market trend. You might be familiar with this phenomenon when you think of particular products, like the popular hot air brush that every beauty and cosmetics store just had to offer or the hottest tech gadgets that customers just can’t live without. 

When you work with a wholesaler’s distributor, you can rest assured that you will always be updated with the latest trends. When you offer trending products in your online store, not only are you reaching a more significant number of customers but also pull attention to other products available in your store. 

Profitable Margins 

When purchasing from a wholesale distributor, you can guarantee higher discounts when buying in bulk. This means you can work with better profit margins and boost your business. 

If you are looking into working with even better profit margins, here’s a tip: recurring buyers are sometimes offered better supplier deals through loyalty programs. So be sure not to overlook this opportunity when sealing the deal with a wholesale provider.

Optimized Business Operation 

When buying from a wholesale supplier, you don’t have to get involved with the product development process, which saves you a lot of time and money. For merchants that don’t know how to find a manufacturer, reaching out to a wholesale distributor can be the best path to success. 

Of course, developing your original product can be a great leap for your business. After all, there is no competition in originality and exclusiveness. However, idealizing a product and finding a manufacturer is a big step and might be the best option for more mature businesses. Read our article on business operations to learn more.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Wholesale Distributors

Do you have questions about how to find the right wholesale distributor? Here are a few answers to frequently asked questions. 

Bottom Line on Wholesale Distributors 

Wholesale distributors can be great partners for retail and e-commerce businesses that want to expand their product portfolio and boost their sales. Because wholesale providers act as the middleman between manufacturers and merchants, companies can take off the stress of handling the product development process and focus on marketing and sales strategies. 

Furthermore, merchants that work with reliable wholesale distributors can benefit from easy stock management and profit margins while offering the hottest products in the market without the hassle of designing their products. 

The first step when looking for a wholesale distributor is to craft a list of potential providers. Next, check the product offering, geographic availability, logistical processes, and customer support quality before committing to a specific supplier. 

You are guaranteed to make the right call by following these five simple steps. Remember: choosing the right partner can pave the way to an even more successful business.

The Ultimate Guide to Merchant Service Providers

A merchant standing beside her goods in a shop

Merchant service providers are the key to unlocking your company’s full payment potential. What is a merchant service provider, and how exactly does it work? This ultimate guide has answers to all your burning questions.

What is a Merchant Service Provider?

A merchant service provider (MSP) is a broad term for any type of software, hardware, or service enabling you as a business owner to process credit or debit card payments. Not only do MSPs facilitate the process, but they also help keep your company’s and customers’ finances safe.

As the internet gained popularity as a marketplace, merchant service providers rose to the challenge of offering comprehensive platforms. Today, the top MSP accounts provide point-of-sale tools and business analytics so your business has everything it needs to succeed. 

The PCI Security Standards Council

The Payment Card Industry (PCI) Security Standards Council sets the bar for merchant service providers to follow. Constituted by American Express, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, and Visa, these companies help regulate the flow of money and protocols during business transactions.

Types of Merchant Service Providers

Not every merchant service provider is the same. For the most part, available services fall into one of three categories:

Merchant Account Providers

Generally speaking, merchant account providers set you up with a merchant account funds flow into after making a transaction. These providers then offer a means to process transactions from a debit or credit card and deposit it into this account.

A merchant account is not a business bank account, but rather a holding place for funds coming into your business. The merchant account provider transfers those dollars into your bank account periodically. Having a separate merchant account can be beneficial for tracking plastic transactions and controlling how funds move.

There can be fees associated with these extra accounts and the process used to process credit or debit card payments accordingly. If you’re looking into merchant service providers, be sure to check the types of cards they work with so you don’t find yourself in a sticky situation with an uncommon card.

Payment Service Providers

Payment service providers are another means of processing payments between buyers and merchants. Instead of having a merchant account, these providers lump merchants together to keep costs down. Being grouped with other businesses means you won’t have your own ID through which to channel funds.

These platforms don’t charge as much for this setup or typically require long-term contracts. On the flip side, you may not experience good customer service if things go awry. Payment service providers hold a lot of risk for letting you use their services, so it’s also more likely for them to freeze or terminate accounts with minimal warning. Even something as simple as a higher than usual payment can throw up a red flag.

Payment Gateway Providers

As the name implies, payment gateway providers create a path for online payments through a secure network. At present, these gateways are the only way business owners can collect payments through the internet.

Some providers will include a merchant account as part of the deal, while others offer a gateway only. In either case, you’ll have the interface you need for customers to shop from your site.

With cyberattacks at an all-time high, payment gateway providers add high levels of fraud prevention and security to keep you and your clients safe. Customers will want this peace of mind before purchasing your app or site.

Tracking the Transaction Process

When a customer makes a purchase, there’s more to the process than a simple swipe of a card. After the swipe, your MSP account sends a request to the customer’s credit card company regarding the purchase.

The credit card company forwards the information to the customer’s bank, where the bank checks for fraudulent activity and sufficient funds. Once the bank either accepts or rejects the transaction, it sends a message through the credit card company back to your MSP.

At this point, the transaction completes, and the customer has the product or service they desire. Depending on the speed of the credit card company, it may take minutes or a few days for the funds to appear in your merchant account.

Who Can Apply for a Merchant Service Provider?

Any business, no matter how large or small, can apply for a merchant service provider. Since MSPs assume risk by dabbling in financial matters, they can be particular about who they work with.

Your company may land in a hot spot if an MSP determines it to be high risk. Frequent returns or questionable charges can be all an MSP needs to reject an application.

What Tools Can Merchant Service Providers Provide?

A merchant service provider can toss a bunch of cool tools your way to help with payment processing. Check out some of the most common features below.

Merchant Accounts

Merchant accounts represent the bucket funds drop into whenever a customer makes a purchase in person or online using a plastic card. An MSP will then transfer the money into the bank account of your choosing.

The process may seem overcomplicated, but merchant accounts introduce a layer of protection designed to keep funds safe. Having a merchant account comes with a unique ID number to expedite transfers. Payment service providers are technically merchant accounts but don’t give a unique ID number.

Credit Card Terminals

Any physical store location needs credit card terminals to read credit and debit card information. Modern terminals connect to the internet through Ethernet or wireless connections, although those using WiFi tend to be more expensive.

It’s possible to either lease terminals or purchase them, depending on how long you envision using them down the road. Leasing these models usually isn’t a cost-effective option, so it’s almost always better to buy when you can.

It’s worth checking out terminals offering EMV compliance for chip cards and that extra layer of security. Similarly, you may wish to invest in NFC-based payment methods like Apple Pay and Google Pay, since these touch-and-go options are becoming increasingly popular.

Point of Sale Systems

Point of sale (POS) systems combine the benefits of credit card readers with a software-based solution for financial management and inventory tracking purposes. Many POS systems can run on tablets nowadays, eliminating the need for bulky computers.

You may even find point-of-sale systems with cash drawers, printers, or check scanners built right in. With the right platform, it’s possible to control all financial aspects from a single device.

Virtual Terminals

Virtual terminals turn a computer or mobile device into a credit card terminal. In most cases, businesses use these virtual interfaces to enter credit card information manually over the phone or tackle remote billing.

Some services include a card reader attachable to a USB port to handle in-person purchases quickly and easily. Where possible, it’s best to scan and keep a physical card on file to cut down on risk.

Mobile Payment Systems

Mobile payment systems enable you or your team to accept credit card payments with a smartphone or tablet. These systems come with a physical card reader that connects to your mobile device and collects card information.

As with credit card terminals, it’s best to choose a mobile payment system offering EMV compliance for extra security and NFC transactions for customers wishing to take a contactless approach. Devices with Bluetooth can introduce wireless connectivity, as headphone jacks on phones are going the way of the dinosaur.

Payment Gateways

Any business taking an online approach needs a payment gateway to receive payments in cyberspace. Gateways connect an online payment center to your merchant account or financial institution with minimal risk.

Only companies with an online presence need a payment gateway, so the service doesn’t typically come standard in merchant service provider packages. Don’t be surprised if you incur a monthly fee for using one. These services do introduce layers of security and customer management tools.

Online Shopping Carts

Online shopping carts are more than just an icon on a website. This software allows businesses to build and customize a website to highlight brands and products. Doing so creates a unique customer experience to stand out from the competition.

What Should You Look for in a Merchant Service Provider?

When picking out a merchant service provider for your business, not just any platform will do. Consider the following before making a purchase.

Features

A merchant service provider’s feature set should be a driving force in your decision-making process. If you’re doing business online, be sure to choose an MSP account with a payment gateway. Some providers add tools like inventory management or sales reporting to keep your business running smoothly.

Security

You and your customer base need to keep financial records safe and secure while performing transactions on the internet. MSPs often bulk up with fraud protection and encryption tools to block hackers from accessing your hard-earned money.

Hardware

For physical store locations, think about the type of hardware you want to use. Are mobile payment systems enough, or do you need full-blown point-of-sale systems? Picture the layout of your location and what makes the most sense before making any purchase.

Ease of Use

Hardware and software alike, it’s important to make sure your merchant service provider is quick and easy to use. If your team fumbles with credit card terminals or struggles through an app, it can reduce the likelihood of a repeat purchase. Such bumps also reduce efficiency, leading to less overall sales.

Support

A good customer service team at your back can get your system back online faster than you can say IT. On the other hand, limited access to support can leave you with hours or days of downtime before you can get up and running again.

Fees and Pricing

There can be a lot of fees associated with merchant service providers for the many services they offer. You should expect a monthly fee for using the service, but make sure the amount fits into your company’s budget.

Less obvious are fees for payment gateways or management software that can send costs through the roof. There may also be transaction fees each time you swipe a card. Should you need hardware solutions as well, weigh pricing options on larger units versus those with fewer features.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Merchant Service Providers

Merchant service providers can take on many forms, and understanding them all can be a challenge. This FAQ answers some of the most common questions about these platforms.

Bottom Line on Merchant Service Providers

Merchant service providers are an integral part of any business hoping to accept credit or debit cards as a payment source. These services connect your system to the necessary entities for transactions to take place. With the uptick in online shopping, merchant service providers are more important than ever to maximize your selling potential.

The Ultimate Guide to People Operations

The Ultimate Guide to People Operations

People operations empower your employees to become productive and fulfilled in the workplace. It’s essential for you to invest time and effort in people ops because your workforce is the backbone of your business. Although the term “people operations” is relatively new, it’s a traditional concept that is closely related to human resources (HR).

What Is People Operations?

People operations is a business function that humanizes business operations to improve employee experience. This people management model boosts the work efficiency and job satisfaction of your staff members through training, engagement, and retention. In practical ways, it highlights the importance of your manpower, not merely as people who are paid to do tasks, but as valuable members of your organization.

The term “people operations” was coined by Laszlo Bock, formerly the Senior Vice President (SVP) of Google’s People Operations department from 2006 to 2016. Through his book Work Rules!, Bock popularized the concept of people ops in the tech industry and beyond. He motivated employers, not just to protect the self-serving interests of the company, but the best interests of the employees as well.

People Operations vs HR: What’s the Difference?

People operations and human resources (HR) are similar in some ways but are also different in crucial ways. Both people ops and HR are people management models. However, conventional HR departments focus on the welfare of the company as an organization, while people operations teams concentrate on the professional and personal well-being of individual employees.

Check out the chart below for an overview of the main differences between people ops and HR:

People Operations

Traditional HR

Purpose

Employee value enhancement

Compliance enforcement

Priority

Supporting existing manpower

Hiring new staff members

Employee Participation

Active

Passive

Company Coordination

Collaborative

Mostly independent

Problem-Solving

Proactive

Responsive

System

Employee database + Rewards system

Employee database

Style

Holistic

Limited

Purpose

The main purpose of a conventional HR department is to enforce compliance with company policies and minimize the liability of the organization. In contrast, the goal of the people operations team is to maximize the value of the staff members in a systematic way.

Priority

On one hand, the top priority of an HR team is to interview and hire new additions to the company to fill up job openings. On the other hand, the people ops department gives importance to providing professional support to current employees to reduce turnover rates within the organization.

Employee Participation

An HR department usually shares information with the staff members about the latest decisions made by the management which affect the whole company. However, the people operations team gives rank-and-file workers the chance to actively participate in decision-making processes through open discussions.

Company Coordination

In general, the HR team works independently on its tasks, only consulting with other departments whenever necessary. In comparison, the people ops department makes it a habit to collaborate with other teams within the company to keep tabs on the workers’ situation.

Problem-Solving

The HR department typically solves problems as they arise on a case-to-case basis. In contrast, the people operations team proactively implements innovations to improve operations and prevent work issues.

System

The HR team maintains an employee database by inputting the latest payroll data and professional information. In addition to this, the people ops department also builds a rewards system to inspire staff members to work hard and stay loyal to the company.

Style

Overall, an HR department follows traditional, limited protocols in supervising the manpower of a business. Even better, the people operations team employs a holistic, flexible style to enhance the work experience of all the employees.

If you are currently practicing the old-school HR approach in your business, you may consider transitioning to the modern people ops approach to make your business more staff-friendly and well-rounded.

What Do People Ops Workers Do?

The people operations department plays a pivotal role in helping employees reach their full potential within the company. Let’s discover what the duties of the team are and who leads the people ops workers.

What Is the Role of the People Ops Team?

The people operations department assists employees beginning from their hiring and onboarding, continuing throughout their stay with the company, and ending with their exit from the organization.

Here are some examples of the common responsibilities of people ops workers:

  1. Facilitating the interview and onboarding procedures of new hires for a smooth transition
  2. Granting all employees access to the tools and technology they need to be productive at their jobs
  3. Ensuring that staff members receive health benefits and employment perks
  4. Providing venues for career development and educational training to enhance the skills and knowledge of employees
  5. Answering the questions of workers related to company policies and employment terms
  6. Listening to suggestions and feedback of staff members and taking the necessary actions
  7. Creating a rewards system to acknowledge employees with stellar work performance, commendable work ethics, and company loyalty
  8. Promoting a sense of belonging for all staff members within the corporate community
  9. Organizing events to engage employees and spark team spirit
  10. Streamlining outmoded HR systems to enhance efficiency
  11. Selecting the right payroll software that suits the requirements of the business
  12. Monitoring HR metrics like hiring periods and turnover rates
  13. Handling offboarding processes for exiting staff members
  14. Increasing overall job satisfaction of current employees by considering them as internal customers

Who Leads the People Operations Department?

The people ops team is typically supervised by two key leaders within the department:

People Operations Director

The people operations director is the head of the people ops department. He or she creates or improves the people ops strategy while aligning it with the mission and values of the organization. The director collaborates with the managers of other departments to boost interoffice relations and resolve employee issues.

People Operations Manager

The people operations manager oversees the day-to-day work activities of the team. He or she makes sure that the department reaches its goal of supporting the employees of the company through onboarding, offboarding, compensation disbursement, benefits administration, time-off approval, event planning, and system improvements. Also, the manager serves as a bridge between the people ops workers and the executive management.

Under the leadership of the people ops director and manager, all the people ops workers in the department fulfill their individual tasks.

What Types of Organizations Need People Ops?

Most organizations can benefit from people operations, whether they are big or small, private or public. These are the various types of organizations that can create a people ops team or perform related practices:

What Types of Organizations Need People Ops

Sole Proprietorship

A sole proprietorship, which is owned by a single individual, is one of the most basic forms of business. Due to its small size and budget, it typically doesn’t have a separate people ops department or a dedicated employee to handle this function. However, sole proprietors can still apply people ops principles on a small-scale level to motivate their employees.

Partnership

A partnership is formed by two or more owners who agree to run the business together. It may have a people ops team or not, depending on the size and resources of the organization. Either way, all the active partners should coordinate on how to implement people ops practices for the sake of the workforce.

Corporation

A corporation is a company that exists as a separate entity from its shareholders. It’s generally bigger and more complex than small businesses. Due to the sheer number of staff members, it can be challenging to nurture everyone who works in the different divisions of the corporation.

For instance, the leading 500 Fortune companies boasted from 302,394 up to 2.2 million employees in 2019. Nevertheless, corporations usually have enough resources and manpower to establish and run a full-scale people operations department.

Limited Liability Company

A limited liability company (LLC) is a business structure that provides personal liability protection to its owners from business debts and claims. It may have a people ops team or not, based on the size and budget of the LLC. Like other businesses, it can take advantage of the people ops approach for the sake of the workers.

Non-Profit Organization

A non-profit organization, or 501c3 non-profit, operates for the sake of a social cause or public good. Unlike for-profit businesses, its main purpose isn’t to generate income for the owners. Since the compensation is usually lower or non-existent compared to regular businesses, the leaders should make an extra effort to inspire paid employees and unpaid volunteers via people operations practices.

Government Agency

Government agencies are directly part of the federal, state, or local government of the U.S. These public organizations typically prioritize the well-being of their staff members through people ops. For example, the Office of Personnel Management oversees the civil service of the federal government. It’s responsible for coordinating the recruitment of new hires. Plus, it handles the health insurance and retirement benefits programs of existing employees.

How Can You Practice People Operations in Your Business?

No matter what size or type of business you have, you can carry out people operations practices in your organization. Just follow these simple steps:

Step 1: Make a Strategic Plan

First of all, create a plan on how to apply people ops principles to your business. If your organization is big enough, you may conceptualize how to establish a people ops team. If your business is fairly small, you can strategize how to apply people ops practices in small-scale ways. Either way, make sure that your plan is in sync with the vision and mission of the company. 

Step 2: Form a People Operations Department

If your company is new, you can build a people ops team from scratch. In case your organization already has an existing HR department, you may gradually convert the team into a people ops department. Based on your requirements, you can hire new people as people ops workers or assign some of your current employees to fill certain roles in the department.

It’s a good idea to handpick professionals with diverse backgrounds for your people ops team. After all, you can benefit from their different skills, including people relations, problem-solving, and data analytics. Plus, they can connect with a wider range of employees because of their varied work experience.

Step 3: Develop a People Ops System

There’s no strict formula on how to create a people ops system so you can develop one that works well for your business. In general, you can begin by setting up an employee database and payroll system or improving the existing one of your HR team.

Even more importantly, you should establish a rewards system so that the workforce will have attractive incentives to level up their work performance. Finally, confirm that your system allows you to effectively monitor and analyze data so you can make future company decisions based on these statistics.

Step 4: Implement Positive Changes

Make a difference in the professional lives of your employees by gradually applying changes for the better. Ensure that your staff members have health benefits and employment perks. Plus, be generous in offering career training and educational opportunities to everyone in the company.

Provide real-life and online venues to promote open discussions and honest conversations among the employees and the management. Overall, take practical measures to turn your office into a physically and mentally conducive place to work.

What Can People Ops Teams Do to Create a Positive Employee Experience?

The people ops department can take active steps to improve the overall experience of employees in the workplace. Here are some ideas which you can carry out in your organization:

  • Hire staff members with different nationalities, cultural backgrounds, and employment specializations to promote diversity in the office.
  • Build online group forums where members can share work ideas and discuss hot topics that can make an impact on company decision-making. 
  • Encourage employees to reach sales or productivity quotas through financial rewards.
  • Invite staff members to attend face-to-face or virtual classes to sharpen their leadership skills and knowledge.
  • Acknowledge the strengths of staff members through awards with matching prizes like gift cards and travel packages.
  • Host real-life and online community events to help employees get to know each other and interact with one another.
  • Give current staff members priority when job openings become available within the organization so they can have the opportunity to move up in their present department or transfer to another one for the sake of professional growth.
  • Organize team-building activities to strengthen the spirit of cooperation and collaboration within the company.

Aside from these ideas, the people ops leaders and workers can also brainstorm together to create unique incentives to make the organization a better place to work for employees.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for People Operations

People operations is a relatively new people management model compared to the conventional HR model. That’s why we have compiled the answers to basic questions on people ops so you can understand this concept better.

Bottom Line on People Operations

People operations encourage your employees to become the best they can be so they can give their best for your business. It’s definitely worth making an effort to switch from a traditional HR style to a revolutionary people ops approach for the sake of your workforce and your organization. Now that you’ve read our ultimate guide, we hope you’re now ready to start transforming your business through the best people ops practices.

Client Support Services Definition: What is it & How Does it Work?

Client Support Services Definition: What is it & How Does it Work?

Customer support is a trained team of people aiming to help customers with a product or service issue. In other words, it is to ensure that customers have successfully solved their problems with your company’s products and/or services. In this article, we’ve listed why client support services are important, how it works, and the difference between customer support and customer success.

What Is Client Support?

Competition is getting tighter among businesses, especially in a digital-first world. How companies can differentiate themselves will be a key element to how customers will react – will they stay, will they look for a competitor? Or will they stay loyal to your brand? 

One of the main ways to increase customer satisfaction, loyalty, and retention is through customer support services. As opposed to what it used to be a decade ago, customer support is omnichannel, so it can be done through email, social media, phone, and instant messaging apps. 

The faster, more efficient, and more effective a customer support team is, the higher the chance that customers will be happy with your service or products. Hence, increasing your customer lifetime value. But what is customer support, anyway?

Client – or customer – support is a team of people offering a range of client support services in order to assist customers and address their issues. In general, the team helps customers to solve a problem related to a company’s service or product. 

Why Client Support Is Important

Offering a good client support service is just as important as developing and selling good products and services. Shopping – in all of its forms, whether it’s online, offline, a product, or a service – is half customer experience and half transaction. 

If customers aren’t well assisted, they might leave. So, when organizations question if providing extra resources and budget are worth it to set up a customer support team or customer success team, the answer is an absolute yes. 

A top-notch client support service adds value to products and services, increases loyalty and customer retention, adds value to your brand, sets your business apart from competitors, boosts sales, and even helps business owners and managers to make better business decisions.

Customer Success Vs Customer Support

Difference between customer success and customer support

Customer success and customer support may sound like it’s the same thing but it isn’t. Despite some similarities, these two services (and teams) operate in different ways. Having a deep understanding of both concepts, you can better strategize improvements in both areas that will benefit your business.

Customer success is a set of procedures and processes that aims to help a company’s clients with their own success. In other words, the customer success team will reach out to their customers proactively to anticipate their questions and challenges. Also, customer success helps customers to accomplish their business goals and maximize the values they get from your product or service. 

Customer support is at the customer forefront – the team is customer-facing and it’s the connection between clients and the organization. The team deals directly with customers and is responsible to solve their problems related to a company’s business – product or service. 

For instance, customers might have a specific question about a product before purchasing or they might run into an issue with a product and need support – here’s where client support comes into play. 

Client-Driven Focus but Different Departments

Despite these two services being quite different, the confusion between them happens because customer support team members and customer success managers are generally well-skilled and have customer service best practices. In general, customer success and customer support play important roles in the overall customer experience.

Overall, these two are complementary services and the companies that understand the connection between them and put these two teams to work together – which isn’t often the case – can create more impact for their customers and the business, as opposed to siloing the two as stand-alone functions or departments.

Types of Customer Support Services

There are many ways to offer customer support services and the right type of service will depend mainly on business needs and customer demands. We’ve listed the top types of customer support services.

Phone support

One of the most traditional ways to tend to customers’ needs and troubleshoot their problems is through telephone support. And it is, still to these days, a powerful way to do it. Complex issues can be quickly solved in a matter of minutes, whereas, if compared to other customer support services such as email, it may take longer. It’s one reason why call center software is vital to customer support teams.

Chat support

The number of customers wanting to communicate with companies using the same tools they talk to their friends and family has increased over the years. Less personal than phone support, chat is still quite convenient. 

Chat support can happen in many forms, and the most popular ones are automated chatbots (interactions with automated bots jumped 81% in 2020), instant messaging apps such as WhatsApp, and social media messaging. 

Email support

Another traditional form of contacting a company’s customer service is using email. Using an effective email management system and customer relationship management (CRM) software, companies can easily organize, prioritize and solve customer support issues in one place.

Self-service support

Self-service support primarily exists in the form of frequently asked questions (FAQs) published on a company’s website, a dedicated customer support page, or an online community. For customers searching for product reviews and comparing services or prices on their own, this tool works quite well for them.  

Self-service support offers less friction and less interaction when compared to the others and it can also increase a company’s efficiency and help deliver faster resolutions.

Omnichannel Approach 

As seen above, there are various types of customer service your business can offer. However, it doesn’t cut it to just offer one channel. Customers want different ways to reach out to companies, especially if their first option didn’t work. 

The new solutions offer a customer experience across different channels and make them interact with each other. For example, if a customer sends an email or talks to a customer support agent on a live chat, they might expect a phone call to pick up exactly where they left off.

Client Support & Customer Success Roles

Customer support starts at the top with customer service management, but CS jobs embrace any job involved in customer service, support, success, and experience. There are some skills and qualifications for those interested in working in one of these areas. 

Soft skills, for example, may include empathy, patience, persuasiveness, friendliness, clear communication, and emotional intelligence. Regarding hard skills, qualifications, and requirements, it will depend specifically on the job itself. Within a customer support team, the main roles are:

4 Types of Customer Support Services
  • Customer support representative
  • Customer support specialist
  • Customer support supervisor
  • Customer support manager

The structure of a customer success team involves multiple job roles to fulfill all the responsibilities of developing and maintaining customer relationships, similar to customer support roles. 

Some useful skills for members of the customer success team include communication, the ability to analyze and interpret data, and problem-solving. The key roles in a customer success team are:

  • Customer success management team lead
  • Customer success operations manager
  • Digital success manager
  • Customer success analyst
  • Customer success manager

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Client Support Services Definition

Customer support and customer success may sound like it’s the same thing and it may cause some confusion. We’ve wrapped up the main questions about customer support services. 

Bottom Line on Client Support Services

Some managers and business owners may question some kind of investment (whether high or low) in a customer support team or customer success. If you are one of these people, we strongly advise you to think twice. That’s because both customer support and customer success team are vital for companies expanding and wanting to thrive. 

Competition is fierce in the digital-first era and organizations willing to put extra customer effort score to attend and give special attention to their customers increase their chances of success. 

Customer support is a way to help clients to solve any problems, questions, or concerns they have regarding a company’s products or services. Whereas, customer success proactively helps their customers with their challenges and issues so that they can achieve their business goals.