What is an LLC? – Limited Liability Company Definition

Llc limited liability company business technology interface

A limited liability company (LLC) is a business entity operating out of a specific state. Its particular model caters to both single-person enterprises and large organizations through personal protections and tax benefits. This article explains what is an LLC business, its advantages, and the steps needed for formation.

Sign up for ZenBusiness to expedite your LLC formation process.

What is an LLC?

A limited liability company, or LLC, is a popular type of business structure in the United States. Sometimes referred to as a hybrid entity, it takes some of the best pieces of corporations and partnerships/sole proprietorships and mashes them together.

Rules for registering your business as an LLC and regulations for maintaining your enterprise do vary from state to state. Many states allow foreigners and citizens alike to create this type of business structure.

There are no restrictions on the size of an LLC, making the structure available to anyone with a business. One or more individuals can own an LLC, known as “members”. Even small companies or startups with a single member can take advantage of an LLC’s benefits.

Common examples of LLCs

Many large businesses are actually LLCs. Some prominent examples include search engine giant Google, tech company Microsoft, and ecommerce behemoth Amazon. Other big names include Johnson & Johnson, General Electric, Sony, and Pepsi-Cola.

Advantages and Disadvantages of LLCs 

There are several upsides and very few negatives to forming an LLC. Let’s take a look at these now.

Advantages

Personal Asset Protection

Perhaps the most appealing aspect of a limited liability company is the ability to safeguard its owners’ personal assets. Should your business become subject to a lawsuit, LLCs create a clear and distinct line between personal and business. Even if your company can’t afford to pay damages, those filing against you are unable to take from your personal finances.

This is not the case with a partnership or sole proprietorship, where there is no such distinction. If hit with legal penalties, your personal assets are fair game.

Tax Options

LLCs have the advantage of choosing a tax status from other business structures, be it sole proprietorships, partnerships, S corporations, or C corporations.

Because of this, it’s rare for this business type ever to pay taxes at the business level. LLCs can benefit from pass-through taxation, where profits pass straight to owners. Members then record their earnings on individual tax returns.

On the other hand, C corporations get hit with double taxes on both the top level and again when reporting on individual returns. When it comes to an LLC vs corporation comparison on taxes, the former takes the win.

Management Flexibility

Whether you’re flying solo or wish to own your business with others, LLCs have a place for you. There are no limits to the number of members an LLC has to have, and that number can change as your company progresses. It’s even possible to divide up profits among these individuals in specific ways.

The ownership also gets to structure the organization how they see fit. They can take it upon themselves to run the business or hire a manager to oversee day-to-day operations. Read more about member-managed vs manager-managed LLC.

Business Credibility

Many other organizations view a limited liability company as a more formal business entity than a sole proprietorship or partnership. Adding the LLC or some form therein to your legal business name goes a long way with customers as well. Some banks may require proof of LLC status to make available certain types of business bank accounts or small business loans.

Simplicity

An LLC is typically easy to form and maintain from year to year. There’s little paperwork involved in the process, and states usually require just one annual report to maintain good standing.

Business owners also have to worry less about administrative procedures that can bog down the corporate structure. With an LLC, you don’t have to hold annual meetings, assign specific officer roles, or keep a record of company minutes.

Disadvantages

Cost

Anyone settled into a sole proprietorship or partnership can benefit from the minimal costs of maintaining business status. Fees for forming an LLC can add up, as many states require upfront payment before allowing you to create your business. Similarly, LLCs must have a registered agent to handle legal documentation.

As each year passes, many states add on additional costs in the form of franchise tax fees or through annual reporting.

Transferring ownership

It’s a bit of a pipe dream to assume the members you start your business with will be there until the end. In corporations, individuals can buy or sell stock to modify ownership, but the same isn’t true for an LLC.

When it comes to transferring ownership in an LLC, usually all members have to approve changes to ownership percentages or add new members into the fold. As you form your LLC, it will be up to the ownership at the time how to structure this rule.

What is an LLC – LLC Formation Process

Forming an LLC is a relatively simple process, but there are some necessary steps involved to ensure compliance with the state. Be sure to follow these steps when creating a business of your own. If you’re interested, read out in-depth guide on how to start an LLC.

Step 1: Select Your State

When starting up an LLC, you can choose any state in the Union to do business in. There’s no requirement when selecting the state you live in or plan to work out of, but most owners opt to use this location for the sake of convenience. If you plan to have a physical location, you will want to establish an LLC in the state with your store.

Each state has its own requirements for forming an LLC, and some tend to have better benefits than others. If looking to form your LLC in a state not your own, you will need to file as a foreign limited liability company. Doing so often comes with additional fees and paperwork.

Step 2: Name Your LLC

Naming your LLC isn’t as simple as coming up with a cool name. LLCs in each state must have unique names distinguishable from all other registered names when you go to file. Using a name search through one of the best LLC services can help you whittle down your options and reduce issues during submission.

Customers have a much better chance of remembering short names that are both clear and memorable. Be sure not to lock yourself into a very specific business type if you plan to expand to new areas in the future.

Your LLC’s designation can’t be misleading to potential customers, though. Anything with “corporation” or some form of the word will surely end up on the rejection file. Along those same lines, it’s not wise to include a word or phrase that alludes to a different business purpose. States may have other rules about naming conventions that you’ll want to be sure to follow.

It’s a good idea to come up with a name quickly, even if you’re not quite ready to file. Several states charge a small fee to hold names for a short period of time while you finalize other details of your startup.

Step 3: Choose a Registered Agent

Every LLC needs a designated registered agent serving as your point of contact for legal and governmental matters. Whoever you choose needs to work regular business hours and have an address in the state you’re forming in.

There’s no rule stating you can’t be your own registered agent, but you’d need to be on hand to handle matters as they arise. Most business owners turn to a service to function as a registered agent. Going with the best registered agent services frees you and other members up to perform other tasks while having peace of mind that sensitive matters won’t get missed.

Step 4: File Your Articles of Organization

This form, submitted to the state, contains important information about your company. Each state’s form is a little different, and some areas may call the document certificates of organization or certificates of formation instead.

As one of your final steps for formation, you’ll need to provide your company name, address, registered agent, and what your business plans to do. Each owner’s name also needs to be on the form with an expectation for how long your venture will exist.

Step 5: Create an Operating Agreement

Your operating agreement serves as the foundation of your business from a legal, operational, and financial aspect. Each member should collaborate to create the rules everyone must follow when running the show.

Although this document is unique to your business, it’s essential to capture key points members can turn to whenever there’s a disagreement among the ranks. List everything that ends up in your articles of organization as a reference and who your members are. This is a great place to record ownership percentages and where responsibilities lie.

From a financial standpoint, cover your tax status and how the company plans to keep financial records. When profits roll in, it should be clear where every penny ends up. There should even be rules on who can change your operating agreement and the method to do so.

Step 6: Get an EIN

An Employer Identification Number (EIN) becomes your company’s unique code for all tax purposes. Any LLC will more than one member requires one, but even single-member LLCs benefit from using an EIN over a social security number. You’ll use this nine-digit number for paying taxes, opening a bank account, or obtaining business licenses.

Step 7: Stay Compliant

Nearly all states require you to check in at specific intervals after forming your LLC. The most common duration is one year, but some governments may wish to hear from you sooner or later. These reports help keep authorities apprised of any changes to your organization and often come with a maintenance fee.

What is an LLC – Top LLC Services

It is possible to accomplish every step of the LLC formation process on your own, but doing so is tedious at best. Missing even one small detail can lead to applications being rejected and significant delays in opening your business to the public.

Consider using an LLC service to do all the heavy lifting for you. These services understand the specific needs of every state, can expedite filing, and are able to function as your registered agent if needed. When it comes time for your yearly report or pooling together tax information, these services can offer assistance there as well.

As you consider an LLC service to help get your business off the ground, we recommend one of the following:

What is an LLC – Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

This section serves to answer some of the most commonly asked questions about what an LLC is.

Bottom Line on What is an LLC

LLCs are a popular business structure combining many of the benefits that come with sole proprietorships, partnerships, and corporations. Its two standout features are the protection of your personal assets and the opportunity to pass-through taxes on the business level.

Forming an LLC can be a lengthy process, from coming up with a name to filing all the necessary paperwork. LLC services can remove much of the work and stress, allowing you to focus on the things that matter most.

ZenBusiness has one of the cheapest LLC services, starting at just $49 to get your company up and running. Their filing process is swift while offering the tools and guidance to get everything right the first time. Check out ZenBusiness today to create the LLC of your dreams.

What is an EIN Number? – Ultimate Guide

EIN tax number written on a desk background

An employer identification number, or EIN, is like a Social Security number (SSN) for your company. It’s a unique nine-digit number the IRS uses to identify businesses for tax reporting purposes. Continue reading our What is an EIN Number guide to learn if your business needs one and how to apply online, by fax, telephone, or mail. 

Get your EIN with ZenBusiness

What is an EIN Number 

The term EIN is a unique identifier the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) assigns to a business entity for tax purposes. An EIN number consists of nine digits and is formatted as XX-XXXXXXX. Businesses can apply for an EIN directly through the IRS, which typically issues them immediately. 

In addition to using an EIN to report taxes, you can also use an EIN to open bank accounts and apply for credit. You can apply for an EIN for your business at no cost with an application on the IRS website. 

What Is an EIN Number for a Business?

Every business that meets a few specific criteria must have an EIN before it can start operating. As mentioned above, employer identification numbers are provided to identify businesses in the United States in the same way the SSNs are used to pinpoint individual residents. 

Also known as a Federal Tax Identification Number (TIN), EINs include information about the state where you register your business. Moreover, the IRS uses EINs to identify taxpayers that must file various business tax returns.

You must have an employee identification number if you operate as a corporation or partnership, withhold taxes from income other than wages, file certain tax reports, or have employees. 

The following business entities can apply for and receive EINs:

  • Corporations
  • S corporations
  • Limited liability companies (LLCs)
  • Partnerships
  • Sole proprietorships
  • Non-profit organizations (NPOs)
  • Government Agencies
  • Trusts
  • Estates

Furthermore, the IRS doesn’t distinguish between different-sized companies. This means even companies with one employee are eligible for an employer identification number as multinational corporations. 

It’s also important to note that EINs are not considered to be confidential and sensitive information like an SSN. Instead, an EIN is freely dispersed by businesses online and through print publications. 

Do I Need an EIN Number?

The IRS requires companies to acquire an EIN if certain criteria are met for tax reporting purposes. Every company must file for and obtain an EIN if the company:

  • Operates as a corporation or partnership
  • Has any number of employees
  • Files excise, alcohol, tobacco, firearms, or employment tax returns
  • Has Keogh plan
  • Is involved with a number of types of organizations, including but not limited to estates, non-profits, or trusts.

On top of this, businesses that modify their ownership structure generally must apply for a new EIN. For instance, sole proprietors that want to incorporate their company must apply for a new EIN number. 

For help with business formation, visit our guide on the best business registration services. You can use services like IncFile, LegalZoom, and ZenBusiness to appoint registered agents and find out what type of business licenses your company needs.

Get your EIN with ZenBusiness

How to Get an EIN Number?

Filing for and receiving an EIN number is completely free. You can apply by phone, mail, or online. In addition, the application process is very straightforward and easy.

To apply, you must fill out Form SS-4: Application for Employer Identification Number, which you can find on the IRS website

You will need to provide the following information to obtain your EIN number:

  • Name of the company’s principal officer, trustor, partner, owner, or any other title
  • The person’s taxpayer identification number

Some additional information you must include in your application form are:

  • The type of entity
  • The reasons for applying (e.g., change of organization, new business, IRS withholding requirement compliances)
  • The start date or acquisition date
  • The principal industry of your business

As you can see, the application form doesn’t ask for an overwhelming amount of information. We recommend applying online because your EIN is issued immediately after verifying the information. However, the business must be located in the US or US territories to apply for an EIN online. 

If you choose to apply by fax, the IRS typically sends a fax with your EIN within four business days. 

On the other hand, international applicants can apply by telephone by calling  267-941-1099 (not a toll-free number) from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. Eastern time, Monday through Friday. The person who calls must be authorized to receive the EIN and answer questions related to Form SS-4, Application for Employer Identification Number. 

Get your EIN with ZenBusiness

Benefits of an EIN Number

The primary benefit of obtaining an EIN is being able to begin business operations. This means that you can’t run your business without one. 

Luckily, you only need to apply one time per business. EINs are unique for every business to which they are assigned. Furthermore, EINs never expire, and the same number is never given to another business entity.

Without an EIN, your business cannot:

  • Hire and pay employees
  • Open bank accounts
  • Obtain credit
  • Invest surplus cash
  • Maintain corporate shields
  • File business taxes and registered state taxes

Obtaining an EIN also lets you separate your personal finances from your business ones. This allows you to protect your personal information from identity theft. 

In addition, self-employed individuals such as subcontractors are usually required to get an EIN, which the primary contractor uses to report to the IRS all business income paid to the subcontractor.

How to Close an EIN Number

Once you receive your EIN, that number is associated with you and your company forever. The EIN is permanently associated with your entity, and the IRS cannot technically ever cancel an EIN.

This is because your EIN is a crucial part of required financial reporting. Even if your business entity never files a return, the EIN is still associated with it.

However, if you want to close your EIN number because you discover it’s not needed, the IRS can close your associated business account. This is typically the case for startup companies that never launch. 

You must mail a physical letter to the IRS with your legal name, business address, EIN number, and reason for closing the account. Although your EIN number remains, the IRS business account will be closed. 

EIN Number vs TIN Number

A Tax Identification Number (TIN) is a wide-ranging term used to describe any kind of identification number. It’s a broad descriptor for an assortment of different numbers used on a tax form. As such, an EIN is a specific form of TIN. 

Different types of TIN numbers include:

  • EIN
  • SSN
  • ITIN (Individual Taxpayer Identification Number)
  • PTIN (Preparer Taxpayer Identification Number)
  • ATIN (Adoption Taxpayer Identification Number)

Depending on the type of specific taxpayer, the EIN may or may not be the TIN used by the Internal Revenue Service. For example, sole proprietors often use their Social Security number as their TIN. Conversely, corporations and partnerships typically use their EIN as their TIN.

What is an EIN Number Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Before you visit the IRS website and apply for your EIN, there are a few things you should know about what an EIN is. Let’s discuss a few common questions we receive about employer identification numbers.

Bottom Line on What is an EIN Number

Businesses need an EIN number to open a bank account, pay federal taxes online, file annual tax returns, and issue payroll and tax documents to suppliers. Therefore, an EIN number has less to do with employees and more to do with tax reporting purposes. So if your business pays taxes, you need an EIN to begin operating. 

Get your EIN with ZenBusiness

50 Business Statistics Terms To Know Before Starting a New Business

A business statistician working in their office

The internet has simplified the process of starting up a business through website builders, online marketplaces, and an abundance of tools. However, these platforms only scratch the surface of the business savvy required to run a company. Instead, it takes an understanding of key words and phrases to find success. This article contains 50 business statistics terms you absolutely must know before starting a new business.

Starting a New Business & the Havoc!

Even with the help of the internet, there’s nothing easy about starting up a new business. The entire process can be overwhelming, from determining your business structure and operating state to choosing vendors and deciding how to sell your product or service. To top all that off, you have to wade through all sorts of business jargon that you can’t possibly hope to understand.

Take a deep breath. Everyone creating a company for the first time experiences this same mix of emotions. What may seem like Greek right now will someday be crystal clear. By being here, you’re on the right path to making that dream a reality.

Confused and stressed businessman

How Will Business Statistics Terms Help You?

With so many businesses rising up all the time, it can be a challenge to stand out in the crowd. Even if your products or services mirror some other company, your level of business knowledge may just be what sets you apart.

Having a detailed understanding of business statistics terms will help you build the company you’ve been dreaming about for some time. Being able to track finances, monitor customer retention, and deal with financing can help you visualize the direction your company is headed through cold hard facts. Knowing how to process the information allows for a course correction that would otherwise sink a fledgling business. 

50 Business Statistics Terms You Need To Know! 

Below you’ll find 50 of the most common business statistics terms used by companies. You’ll want to learn these as quickly as possible to give your business the best chance to succeed.

50 business statistics terms you need to know

1. Accounts Payable

Accounts payable refers to short-term debt that your company owes vendors or suppliers. It constitutes the sum of all purchases made on credit that your business has not yet settled payments with. Such expenses must be paid off within the appropriate time frame to avoid repercussions.

Business owners should always keep detailed records of credits and debits into accounts payable to avoid issues. Many businesses have an accounts payable team with the sole purpose of handling monies owed to other ventures. Note that accounts payable do not include long-term debts from loans or large capital purchases.

Amounts in accounts payable show up as credits while you prepare for funds to go out. Once paid, debit accounts payable and credit the appropriate cash account.

2. Accounts Receivable

Similar to accounts payable, accounts receivable represents funds other entities own your business for services provided or products delivered. These amounts are assets coming into your business to use as part of your overall working capital. Each organization you supply goods or services to has a legal obligation to pay within an allotted time.

After providing your products or services, it is your responsibility to send an invoice with mutually agreed payment terms. In most cases, terms range between 30 and 60 days for the transfer of funds. Should customers fail to make timely payments, it’s possible to charge fees or impose penalties.

Your accounts receivable list will show as debits until you receive payments. At that point, you’ll credit the accounts receivable column and debit your cash account.

3. Accruals

In accounting, accruals showcase adjustments to your company’s net income before payments have been sent or received. Every time your business purchases an item on credit or supplies a product or service, an accrual takes place on your income statement. They only apply to instances where an exchange of cash has not yet happened.

Accruals can be revenues earned by your business or expenses incurred. Recording these types of transactions throughout a cycle makes invoicing a much simpler process when it comes time to bill. It also ensures you won’t have any surprises when you receive a charge from one of your vendors.

4. A/B Testing

A/B testing is a means for businesses to compare two scenarios surrounding a single variable to see which works better. Such a test, also known as split or bucket testing, can prove valuable in determining the direction or approach your company should go with a particular matter. The key is modifying only one variable at a time to see its effect on the overall picture.

For instance, business owners can attempt two different versions of a website popup to see which one draws the most attention. You then show one version with green text to a random group of users and the same popup with blue text to a different random group. By keeping all other components the same, it becomes clear from testing which color customers prefer.

5. Bounce

Bounce or bounce rate measures the length of time customers spend on your website at any given time. The higher this number is, the faster people are exiting your page and moving on to other things. In an ideal world, the features on your page will keep shoppers engaged and happy while browsing your wares. 

If you have a high bounce rate, your company may not see the numbers you were hoping for from online sales. All hope is not lost, as you and your team can redesign a site to become more pleasing to peruse. Keep in mind also that customers will vanish if they have trouble navigating or prompts are too convoluted to understand.

6. Balance Sheet

Your company’s balance sheet equates to a financial snapshot of how business is going at any given time. The document contains all your assets and liabilities alongside any shareholder equity at that moment. Most organizations study these numbers at the end of a quarter or fiscal year.

Balance Sheet illustration

Balance sheets help identify the financial health of your business by listing its overall worth. At a glance, you’ll see all your assets, such as cash, inventory, and accounts receivable. These will appear next to liabilities in the form of rent, loan payments, and other accounts payable. The balance sheet also records shareholder equity from capital or invested income.

In all instances, balance sheets should actually balance. To determine if this is the case, businesses use the following formula:

Assets = Liabilities + Shareholders’ Equity

7. CAC

CAC stands for customer acquisition cost. This is an estimated value of how much your company has to spend in order to acquire a paying customer. To calculate such a number, you’ll need to identify every expense in marketing and sales that go toward bringing individuals to your business. Divide this amount by the number of customers your company had over the same period of time.

It’s imperative that the cost of bringing in customers doesn’t outweigh how much you’re making on the products or services you sell. Taking the time to understand your customer base can help bring these costs down.

8. Capital

Many people equate capital with dollar bills, but it extends well beyond the amount of money your company has. The term encompasses your overall wealth as an organization and includes physical assets such as equipment, vehicles, and buildings. More recently, capital has grown to include intangible things such as intellectual property.

Each of the items that make up your company’s capital generates some sort of value that helps create income. Business owners often assign a capital type, such as debt, equity, trading, or working. Businesses can help raise capital by issuing stocks and bonds to investors.

9. Churn

Churn rate, also known as attrition, depicts the frequency that customers stop doing business with you. This could be losses in the number of subscribers to a service or a record of customers who have not made a purchase over a specific length of time. To qualify for churn, individuals must have purchased something from your business at least one time.

There’s no way to maintain your entire clientele each cycle, so some churn should be expected. For a healthy business, the customer growth rate must exceed the number of customers you lose in a set period.

Businesses may also use this term to indicate employee turnover in a given window. You can use churn to track quality of life in your work environment and make improvements as needed.

10. Working Capital

A subset of capital, working capital consists of the assets a company needs to run its day-to-day operations. Working capital helps financial teams understand how well an organization can handle financial challenges as they appear. In general, more working capital allows companies to compensate for day-to-day changes that could upset smooth operations.

It takes knowledge of current assets and liabilities to calculate a value for working capital. A simple subtraction of the totals from those two columns reveals the working capital for your business. Low values should be a source of concern and remedied as soon as possible.

11. Cash Flow

No business can survive without a healthy amount of cash. Cash flow captures how money flows both into and out of your company. Positive cash flow occurs when more cash enters your business than goes out, whereas companies with negative cash flow see the opposite happen.

Free cash flow indicates the amount left over after covering all expenses for a particular financial period. Businesses can hold these funds for issues that may arise or invest them back into the company. Ventures with high free cash flow are generally quite profitable and on a solid financial path.

12. Cash Flow Projections

Cash flow projections help estimate the money expected to move into and out of your business. Unplanned expenses aside, you can use accounts receivable and payable to get an idea of any additional cash your company has to play with once you’ve paid the bills.

Items such as rent and employee salaries typically remain the same, providing a solid baseline for cash flow out of the business. Past months often serve as a guideline for costs due to materials or income from sales. You can use this data to project trends that reveal whether you’re paying too much or have funds to reinvest.

13. Depreciation

Your pieces of equipment will feel wear and tear over time, and each will eventually reach the end of its useful life. You can use depreciation to track the reduction in the cost of expensive items through their lifespan in a quantifiable way. Few assets, like land, appreciate in value over time instead.

An illustration on depreciation

There are a few different methods for calculating depreciation. You have some control over depreciating your items, but the most common approach is a constant amount over its life cycle. However, it is also possible to adjust the value based on workload or at a varying rate.

14. Gross Profit

Gross profit is a measure of your company’s remaining earnings after removing the cost of goods sold from your revenue. It is an indication of the income left over after factoring out any expense necessary to sell your product or service. You’ll need to consider manufacturing costs, labor, raw materials, transportation, and even marketing as part of your total expenses.

Studying your gross profit numbers can help determine where funds are going in the sales process. You’ll have a better idea of how efficient your systems are and may indicate areas in need of improvement.

15. Income Statement

Your business’s income statement closely looks at your bottom line, revealing how much you’ve earned and spent over a particular period. With a careful focus on incoming revenue and outgoing expenses, the statement is a great way to visualize profit or loss. Obviously, it’s a good show to see numbers indicating more money comes in than goes out.

In addition to the information it provides you, other entities use income statements to see how viable your business has become. Investors love to see this document when deciding whether to invest capital into your business.

16. KPI

KPI stands for key performance indicators and is a general term for the guidelines you and others use to measure your business. These measurable values allow you to keep tabs on all areas of your company. You can see where you’re doing well and also areas in need of some improvement.

Each KPI should relate to a specific business outcome. As you begin planning out your KPIs, ask yourself which objectives mean the most to you at your current stage. By tracking the metric each cycle, you can gauge whether current initiatives are working as planned.

Common examples include gross profit, churn rate, and customer acquisition cost. 

17. LTV

LTV constitutes the lifetime value of your customers. In other words, it provides an idea of how much revenue the average customer will generate over the entire time they shop with you. With this information, you can have a better handle on customer needs and how to effectively market your products.

To discover lifetime value, you’ll first need to look at the average monthly revenue from an individual consumer. Dividing that value by churn rate (in percent) will obtain your LTV. As an example, a customer paying $100 per month for a subscription with a churn rate of 10% can expect to earn you $1,000 over time.

18. Liability

Liabilities cover any and all debts your company owes to some other entity. Usually, sums of money can be current (such as accounts payable or wages) or long-term (often business loans or a mortgage). In either case, a liability comes with a legal obligation to make said payment within the appropriate amount of time.

Having a detailed record of your company’s liabilities is key to understanding where your hard-earned funds are going. Keeping an up-to-date balance sheet can help identify unnecessary liabilities that can instead become free cash flow.

19. Liquidity

Everything within your business holds some sort of cash value. Liquidity indicates the ease and quickness you can turn one of those business assets into cash. Having high liquidity allows your company a measure of financial flexibility in the event a need for funds arises. Those with low liquidity may not have the means to drum up quickly in an emergency situation.

Having a good amount of liquidity points directly to the health of your business. It may not be wise to hold onto too much cash lest you miss out on growth opportunities or decisive investments. Being able to access what you need when you need it is a vital feature for any business.

20. Customer Lifetime Value

While all customers are great, they aren’t all equal. For example, one customer can consistently return to your business to purchase additional items. On the other hand, another customer may only purchase from your business once. For this reason, the first customer has a higher lifetime value than the second customer.

Customer lifetime value (CLV) is the total dollar amount a customer spends on your business or products. Since it costs less to keep existing customers than it is to acquire new ones, increasing your CLV is an excellent way to drive profitability and growth. 

By comparing your CLV to customer acquisition costs, you can quickly estimate a customer’s profitability and long-term business sustainability. 

21. Retention

As you just learned with CLV, retaining existing customers is crucial for sustainable growth. It’s typically cheaper to get existing customers to make repeat purchases than to find new customers. Retention, or customer retention, is a business metric that measures customer loyalty and the ability of a company to keep its customers over time. 

This is important because it helps you identify loyal customers and predict repurchase behavior, customer satisfaction, and customer engagement. Therefore, customer retention is a strategy that involves increasing a company’s repeat customer rate and extracting additional value from those shoppers. 

The overall goal of retention is to make sure a customer makes additional purchases, is happy with your product or service, and does not run to a competitor.

22. Run Rate

Whenever businesses talk about run rates, they extrapolate data from one time period to make predictions about a more extended period of time. In general, companies use run rates to see what a key performance indicator like revenue or profits would be for a year, using data from a quarter or month.

For example, you can calculate your annual run rate based on quarterly data by multiplying by four. The same can be done by multiplying the monthly run rate by 12. However, the primary issue with run rate is the underlying assumption that current conditions will extend throughout the forecast period. 

Therefore, you should use run rate with a grain of salt for future financial projections.

23. Annual Percentage Rate

The annual percentage rate (APR) is the yearly interest rate charged on loans, including fees such as broker fees, closing fees, and discount points. APR differs from interest rates because interest rates don’t consider the additional fees associated with a loan. Therefore, the APR is always greater than or equal to the nominal interest rate. 

Since APR is more inclusive of all the fees involved with a loan, it paints a clearer picture of the total borrowing costs of a loan. You should pay close attention to the APR when deciding which lender you want to borrow money from because it describes the actual cost of financing.

24. Business Credit Report

A business credit report contains a snapshot of the financial health of a business. It typically includes the company’s background information, financial profile, banking history, liens, and legal filings. The business credit report also consists of a credit score, indicating your business’s creditworthiness and the risk level taken by future creditors. 

Therefore, creditors use business credit reports to assess the risk they take if they offer your business a loan or credit card. It’s also important to note that business credit reports are public information for anyone to access. The three primary credit bureaus conducting business credit reports are Equifax, Experian, and Dun & Bradstreet.

25. Collateral

Collateral is a specific item of value or monetary amount a lender can seize from a borrower if he or she cannot repay the loan according to the agreed-upon terms. 

Collateral illustration

With a home mortgage, the bank typically asks the borrower to provide their home as collateral. This means that if the borrower fails to comply with the repayment terms of the mortgage, the bank has the right to take ownership of the home.

The bank can sell the home to recoup the money lent to the borrower since they failed to meet the repayment terms. Therefore, collateral acts as a guarantee that the lender can receive their money back even if the borrower does not repay the loan. 

26. Credit Limit

A credit limit defines the maximum amount of credit a financial institution or lender can extend to a client on a line of credit or credit card. Lenders typically set credit limits based on the borrower’s credit score and credit report. The lender may also examine your personal income, loan repayment history, and other financial information.

Furthermore, lenders usually give high-risk borrowers with low credit scores lower credit limits because they lack the reputation to repay the debt. On the other hand, low-risk borrowers receive higher credit limits, providing more spending flexibility.

27. Debt Consolidation

Debt consolidation is when you combine multiple debts into a single payment. Businesses use debt consolidation to get a lower overall interest rate which helps reduce the total debt. Furthermore, debt consolidation helps to reorganize multiple bills, making the payback process much more manageable and efficient. 

It’s a good idea to consider debt consolidation if you have good credit and qualify for low-interest rate debt consolidation loans. Also, you can deploy debt consolidation if your monthly debt payments don’t exceed 50% of your monthly gross income. This way, you have consistent cash flow to cover debt payments.

28. Debt Service Coverage Ratio

A debt service coverage ratio (DSCR) measures a company’s available cash flow to pay current debt obligations. Investors view a company’s DSCR to see if it has enough cash flow to repay its debts. 

In essence, the debt-to-service coverage ratio indicates a company’s financial health, especially businesses that are levered and carry a lot of debt. The ratio measures a business’s total debt obligations to its operating income.

DSCR = Net Operating Income / Total Debt Service

You can calculate net operating income by subtracting certain operating expenses (COE) from revenue. The total debt service is a company’s current debt obligation.

29. Debt Financing

Whenever a company borrows money to be repaid at a future date with interest, it’s known as debt financing. It can be in the form of a secured or unsecured loan. If a business needs funds, there are three ways to obtain them: take on debt, sell equity, or a combination of the two.

If the company chooses debt financing, it sells fixed income securities such as bonds, notes, or bills to investors to acquire the money needed to grow its operations. 

In essence, debt financing is the use of a bond issuance or loan to obtain funding for a company. Companies use debt financing to buy assets, acquire other entities, or obtain additional working capital. 

30. Equity Financing

As the inverse of debt financing, equity financing is when companies raise capital by selling shares. Companies deploy equity financing when they have a short-term need to pay off expenses or a long-term goal of growing the business with additional capital. 

Furthermore, equity financing can come from several sources. For instance, businesses can raise money through investors, friends and family, or an initial public offering. Equity financing is different from debt financing because debt financing involves borrowing money. On the contrary, equity financing involves selling a portion of the equity in the business.

31. FICO Score

A FICO score is a credit score determined by the Fair Isaac Corporation (FICO). Lenders use a customer’s FICO score with other financial reports to evaluate credit risk and decide whether to extend credit. The FICO score uses payment history, types of credit used, new credit accounts, length of credit history, and the current level of indebtedness to establish creditworthiness.

Simply put, lenders use FICO credit scores to quantify and evaluate a person’s creditworthiness. For example, FICO scores are used in over 90% of mortgage application decisions in the US. Furthermore, companies can improve their credit scores by using less than 30% of available credit, paying expenses on time, and having a combination of different types of credit.

FICO scores range from 300 to 850, with scores ranging from 670 to 739 considered to be “good” FICO credit scores.

32. Financial Statements

Financial statements are a group of summary-level reports about a company’s financial management. They include a company’s income statement, balance sheet, and statement of cash flows.

A balance sheet delivers an overview of a company’s assets, liabilities, and shareholders’ equity as a snapshot in time. The income statement provides a picture of a company’s revenues and expenses over a fixed time period. Lastly, the cash flow statement measures if the company is able to generate enough cash to pay its debt obligations, fund additional investments, or fund its operating expenses. 

Investors, creditors, and market analysts use financial statements to evaluate a company’s financial performance and earnings potential. 

33. Fixed Interest Rate

A fixed interest rate means you have to pay an unchanging amount of interest on a loan or line of credit. This means your loan’s interest rate won’t fluctuate over the lifetime of your loan. Therefore, you know exactly how much each monthly payment is and how much it will cost to cover your total loan based on the fixed interest rate.

The primary benefit of a fixed-rate loan is knowing that unpredictable market conditions won’t impact your loan. You can typically find fixed interest rates with student loans, mortgages, auto loans, credit cards, and home equity loans. 

34. Floating Interest Rate

A floating interest rate, also known as a variable interest rate, is the opposite of a fixed interest rate. By definition, a floating interest rate changes periodically based on current economic or financial market conditions and typically moves in tandem with a specific index or benchmark.

These interest rates are usually carried by credit card issuers and are commonly seen with mortgage loans. The best time to take on a loan with a floating interest rate is when you perceive that the base rate will either stay consistent or reduce over time. As such, your loan’s interest will either stay the same or decrease. 

35. Interest Rate

Unlike the annual percentage rate, the interest rate is the percentage you pay to borrow money from a lender for a certain time period. While the APR includes all the fees associated with the loan, the interest rate is the sole percentage of the principal paid to the lender to borrow money, and it doesn’t include all the fees you pay for the loan.

The fees not calculated with the interest rate include discount points, origination fees, broker fees, underwriting fees, and mortgage insurance premiums. This is why APR is often higher than the interest rate.

An illustration on interest rate

36. Invoice Factoring or Financing

Invoice factoring and invoice financing are alike and often used interchangeably. Also known as accounts receivable financing, invoice factoring involves the sale of unpaid invoices to another organization. The organizations that purchase unpaid invoices are known as factors, lenders, or factoring companies.

Similarly, invoice financing involves borrowing money against outstanding accounts receivable. A lender provides a portion of your unpaid invoices upfront, in the form of a line of credit or loan. After the client pays your invoice, you pay the lender back the amount loaned along with fees and interest. 

Small businesses that need help managing cash flow issues or covering short-term expenses should consider using invoice factoring or invoice financing. 

37. Lien

A lien is a formal and legal declaration that your company owes money to another entity. This could be a bank, lender, or other company. Although it’s similar to collateral, a lien is a legal filing that gives a lender the right to your property or assets if you fail to honor the repayment terms. Therefore, you can get rid of a lien by paying off the debt or filing for bankruptcy. 

The asset itself is what’s known as the collateral, and the lien is the legal right for the lender to take possession if the borrower fails to repay the loan. As such, liens and collateral go hand-in-hand in loan agreements. Different types of liens include tax, consensual, judgment, and mechanic’s liens. 

38. Line of Credit

A business line of credit (LOC) is a set borrowing limit a borrower can withdraw on at any time the line of credit is open. For example, if a lender extends a $10,000 line of credit, you can borrow up to $10,000. If you borrow $5,000, you can only borrow another $5,000. This means you have to pay back the initial amount before you can continue borrowing.

The lender sets the payment timings, size of payments, and interest rates. Furthermore, some lines of credit let you write checks, while others include a debit or credit card. 

The main benefit of a line of credit is its built-in flexibility. Although you have a fixed maximum borrowing limit, you don’t have to use it all. Instead, you can borrow on an as-needed basis based on current expenses and operating expenditures.

39. Loan-to-Value

The loan-to-value (LTV) ratio is a financial metric that compares the borrowed money to the market price of the asset being bought. Financial institutions and other lenders use LTV ratios to assess lending risk before approving a mortgage. Generally, loan assessments with a high LTV ratio are considered high-risk loans.

Although lower LTVs are more optimal for lenders, they require borrowers to come up with larger down payments to offset the lower interest rates. 

LTV Ratio = Mortgage Amount / Appraised Property Value

40. Long-Term Debt

In accounting, long-term debt refers to an organization’s loans and other liabilities that won’t be due within one year of the balance sheet date. For example, let’s say your company has a mortgage loan with a principal balance of $200,000 with 120 monthly payments remaining. This means your loan payments due in the next 12 months include $12,000 of principal payments.

On the balance sheet, $188,000 of the $200,000 mortgage loan should be filed as a long-term debt or noncurrent liability. You should report the other $12,000 as a current liability. If all or a portion of the long-term debt comes due within one year, the value will move to the current liabilities section on the balance sheet, classified as the current portion of long-term debt.

41. Merchant Cash Advance

Small businesses use merchant cash advances (MCA) as an alternative to traditional bank loans. With a merchant cash advance, borrowers receive an upfront lump sum from a merchant cash advance provider, and the borrower then repays the advance with a percentage of the company’s sales.

Merchant cash advances offer fast access to cash and flexible repayment terms without needing to put up collateral. You can also get approved for a merchant cash advance without strong credit or a lot of paperwork. However, you likely need to pay higher interest rates for the convenience of the merchant cash advance. 

Merchant cash advances are only available for businesses that process credit cards for payments. This is because the funding provider gets paid back by taking a portion of your future credit card sales. 

42. Microloan

Microloans are small loans typically up to $50,000 lenders issue to small businesses. These small business loans usually have short repayment terms and varying interest rates depending on the situation. 

Microloans are helpful for startups and businesses facing challenges with credit access. In addition, you can use a microloan to pay for anything your business needs, such as new equipment or operating costs.

Furthermore, you can find microloans from several organizations, including the US Department of Agriculture (USDA), Small Business Administration (SBA), and other online or alternative lenders. 

43. Principal

In any loan or investment, the principal is the original sum of money borrowed or deployed. For example, the principal is the initial size of a loan or bond in the context of borrowing. In terms of investing, the principal is the original amount committed to purchasing the assets. 

If you take out a $100,000 mortgage, the principal is $100,000. After you pay off $50,000, the principal balance is the remaining $50,000. Furthermore, the principal dictates how much interest you pay on the loan. Whenever you make monthly payments on a loan, the money first goes toward accrued interest. Then, the remaining balance is applied to the principal.

44. Return on Investment (ROI) 

As one of the most commonly used financial metrics in business, return on investment evaluates the performance of an investment. It’s expressed as a percentage and calculated by dividing an investment’s net profit by its original cost.

ROI = (Current Value of Investment – Cost of Investment) / Cost of Investment

For example, let’s say you invest $10,000 into a new business venture and generate $20,000 of profit. Using the formula above, the ROI of this new business venture is 200%. Companies use ROI to compare different investment opportunities and analyze the performance of current investments. 

45. Secured Loan

Secured loans are personal or business loans that require some form of collateral as a borrowing condition. This collateral typically includes physical assets such as vehicles and property or liquid assets such as cash. For example, if you get a mortgage for a home, the loan is secured by the property you’re purchasing. The same can be said with a car loan. 

Therefore, if you fail to meet the repayment conditions, the lender can seize the collateral used to secure the loan. In a mortgage loan, this involves initiating a foreclosure proceeding. The lender would auction off the home and use the proceeds to pay the required amount on the defaulted mortgage.

46. Term Loan

Term loans provide a one-time lump sum payment you can use for personal and business expenses. For this reason, term loans are an excellent choice for both short and long-term financing obligations. 

With a term loan, the lender provides the one-time lump sum payment, and you repay the loan with interest over the specified time period. Your specific interest rate can be fixed or variable, depending on the loan terms. 

Furthermore, term loans are secured borrowings, meaning you must put up assets as collateral against payment to ensure payments are made on time. More importantly, term loans may be challenging to qualify for and require rigorous approval. 

47. Unsecured Loans

While secure loans require collateral, unsecured loans do not. Rather than relying on collateral, lenders approve unsecured loans based on the borrower’s creditworthiness. Therefore, unsecured loans are riskier than secured loans for lenders and require higher credit scores for approval.

If the borrower defaults on the unsecured loan, the lender can commission a collection agency to collect the debt or take the borrower to court. Unsecured loans include student loans, personal loans, and most credit cards. In addition, these loans tend to have higher interest rates than secured loans because of the greater level of risk involved. 

48. Employer Identification Number (EIN) 

An employer identification number is a unique nine-digit number, formatted as XX-XXXXXXX, given to a company. The Internal Revenue Service uses employer identification numbers to identify business entities for tax reporting purposes. Therefore, all businesses that meet a specific criteria need an EIN before they can begin operations. 

The employer identification number is also known as a Federal Tax Identification Number. You must have an EIN if you have employees, operate as a partnership or corporation, file certain tax returns, or withhold taxes from income other than wages. 

49. Net Worth

Net worth is the sum of all an individual’s or corporation’s owned assets minus the liabilities they owe. Assets include cash in your business checking or savings account, stocks and bonds, an ownership stake in a company, and property. Liabilities include a credit card balance, student loan balance, or mortgage balance.

Companies use net worth to provide a snapshot of their current financial health in business. Net worth is also known as book value or shareholders’ equity. 

50. Retained Earnings

Retained earnings is an important accounting concept that measures a business’s cumulative net earnings or profits after deducting dividend payments. In other words, it’s the amount of net income left after a company pays out dividends to its shareholders.

Companies focused on rapid growth have high retained earnings as they may not pay much or any dividends. This way, these companies can reinvest the retained earnings in further growth and expansion. Retained earnings is a powerful financial metric because it helps assess a company’s financial health.

Learn From Scratch!

No one enters the business world with complete knowledge of every business term needed to ultimately succeed. While some may be further along than others, there are so many aspects of business you can only grasp as you begin the process of building your own company. Whatever your business literacy is, it’s never too late to start learning the words and phrases you can use to obtain your goals.

Conversely, your chances of making it as a business owner are slim to none without an understanding of the many business statistics terms that cover the business landscape. As soon as you can, start learning the words and phrases you don’t know so you’ll be ready when you need them most.

If you’re striving to start a business without an iota of financial sense, that’s okay too. Start learning the most important business statistics terms from scratch as quickly as possible so you don’t drown along the way.

Tips to Have a Successful Start

There’s no cookie-cutter method for starting out a business. These tips can help provide the groundwork you’ll need to get up and running.

Tips to have a successful start

1. Do Your Homework

Starting a business without careful research is a recipe for disaster. You need to learn the market you hope to sell in and what your potential customers are looking for. Above all else, having a thorough understanding of key business statistics terms can provide a stable foundation to stand on when starting out. 

If you’re stuck on the initial product or service offering, a few trending types of businesses include the mental health and cyber security niches. 

2. Get Organized

There’s a lot going on in a new business, and it can be hard to figure out where to begin. You won’t get far if you’re unable to stay organized. Create a list of tasks you need to tackle and mark things off as you accomplish them. Having this sense of direction should keep you focused and less stressed.

3. Keep Detailed Records

It’s essential to make note of every transaction, expense, customer concern, and which things are working well. This way, it’s easy to see at a glance how you’re doing financially and possibly detect issues before they occur.

4. Follow the Money

Your balance sheet and income statement are two great sources you can use to see how money moves through your business. It goes without saying that more should be coming in than going out, but having line-by-line expenses can reveal unnecessary expenses or ways to boost income. These documents can also provide good insight into the health of your business.

5. Measure Important Metrics

Numbers don’t lie. Creating metrics to track things like customer churn rate can clarify a gap in your marketing strategy or a price point that turns shoppers away. You can similarly watch profits to ensure numbers are moving in the right direction.

6. Provide Memorable Service

There needs to be something memorable about your business that will draw customers in and keep them coming back for more. For the amount you spend to obtain a single customer, you want to maximize the return on investment you’ll receive down the road.

What Is the Retail Inventory Method? Definition, Formula & Calculator

Retail inventory manager looking at an inventory illustration on a PC

The retail inventory method is an accounting procedure that estimates the value of a retail store’s merchandise. This method produces the ending inventory balance for a store by calculating the cost of inventory relative to the price of the goods. In short, it’s one of the most common ways to calculate the value of your stock.

What Is the Retail Inventory Method?

You can use the retail inventory method to quickly estimate the value of your ending inventory over a given time period. 

Since inventory is the bread and butter of your retail store, you likely have a lot of capital tied to your stock. Therefore, it makes sense to keep track of your inventory so you can make effective decisions when it comes to what to order, what to invest in, and when to carry more products.

Although there are many ways to estimate the value of your stock, the retail inventory method is one of the most common and efficient techniques. This method works by taking the total retail value of all the products in your inventory, subtracting the total amount of sales, and then multiplying that amount by the cost-to-retail ratio. 

We understand how challenging it is to run a retail store. You have to manage employees, build staff schedules, implement marketing strategies, and keep an accurate count of your store’s inventory to ensure you don’t run out of any products. Furthermore, you must ensure you aren’t losing money on sales by correctly calculating your cost-to-retail ratio.

The best way to guarantee you don’t run out of inventory or lose any money is by mastering the retail inventory method.

Retail Inventory Method Advantages

The main advantage of the retail inventory method is that it saves retailers the time and expense of shutting down temporarily to conduct a physical inventory. Physical inventories are time-consuming and can impact your business’s bottom line.

During physical inventories, you must pay your staff to help while also shutting down your business from outside customers. Although some retailers perform physical inventories at night time, your staff are prone to errors during a spontaneous graveyard shift.

Furthermore, the retail inventory method is part of the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (GAAP) provided by the American Institute of CPAs. It’s also useful for determining the value of your retail business since this method creates a report on the value of the inventory on hand.

Retail Inventory Method Disadvantages

Although the retail inventory method has a lot of benefits, there are some drawbacks to be aware of. First of all, it’s important to understand that it’s just an estimate and doesn’t account for items that are stolen, broken, or otherwise taken out of inventory for reasons other than a sale.

Furthermore, the retail inventory method works best when the markup is consistent across all your products. If different products carry different markups, the end result won’t be completely accurate.

For example, if your retail clothing shop marks up every item it sells by 70% of the price you get from wholesale distributors, you can accurately use the retail inventory method. However, if you mark up some items by 15%, some by 30%, and some by 60%, it is difficult to apply this accounting method accurately.

Another disadvantage is that large additions of inventory would throw off calculations. For example, this can occur in the event of acquiring another company. 

Who Should Use the Retail Inventory Method

The retail inventory method isn’t suitable for everyone. All retailers are different, and the retail inventory method is an optimal accounting strategy for specific types of retailers.

Those who will find the most value in the retail inventory method tend to be:

  • Retailers with multiple locations since physical inventories are difficult to coordinate for the same time in different locations
  • Retailers who don’t usually have large amounts of inventory in transit since it doesn’t account for those
  • Retailers who are comfortable with estimates that are regularly available on an on-demand basis
  • Retailers who have consistent markups across all their products

How to Calculate the Retail Inventory Method

To calculate your ending inventory value with the retail inventory method, use the following steps:

Step 1: Calculate the Cost-to-Retail Ratio

The first step is determining the cost-to-retail percentage of your retail inventory. The cost-to-retail ratio determines how much your inventory costs in relation to the retail price.

For example, if a sweatshirt costs $15 to manufacture and you sell it for $100, the cost-to-retail ratio is 15%.

Therefore, you can calculate your cost-to-retail ratio with this formula:

  • cost-to-retail ratio = (cost of merchandise / retail price of the merchandise) x 100

Step 2: Calculate the Cost of Merchandise Available for Sale

The next step is to determine the exact time period you will be reporting. Then, you must identify the cost of inventory at the beginning of the time period and the cost of any additional inventory purchases made during the course of that time period.

For example, if your shop had a beginning inventory of $30,000 and then you purchased $10,000 of new inventory during that period, your cost of merchandise available for sale is $40,000.

The formula for this calculation is

  • Cost of merchandise available for sale = cost of beginning inventory + cost of additional inventory

Step 3: Calculate the Cost of Sales During the Time Period

Next, you need the total merchandise sales and cost-to-retail percentage for your chosen time period. You will use these numbers to calculate the cost of sales, which represents the total cost of goods for all the merchandise you sold during the reporting period.

For example, let’s say your cost-to-retail ratio is 15%, and you had sales of $50,000 over your chosen time period. You can multiply your cost-to-retail ratio by your total sales to find your cost of sales was $7,500.

  • Cost of sales = sales during the chosen time period x cost-to-retail percentage

Step 4: Calculate Ending Inventory

Now, you can use the cost of merchandise available for sale and the cost of sales during that period to determine your ending inventory.

Your ending inventory represents the value of merchandise you have available at the end of your reporting period. Once you calculate your ending inventory, you can use it on future balance sheets. However, you must ensure its accuracy if you report your store’s financial information when seeking financing.

  • Ending inventory = cost of merchandise available for sale – cost of sales during the chosen time period

Example of the Retail Inventory Method

Let’s pretend your retail business sells home coffee roasters for an average price of $300 and a cost of goods of $150. As such, your cost-to-retail ratio is 50%. 

In this example, let’s also say your beginning inventory costs $500,000, and you paid $200,000 for purchases during the month. During the same time period, you had sales of $1,000,000.

To calculate your ending inventory value:

How to calculate your ending inventory value:

Beginning inventory

+ $500,000

Purchases

+ $200,000

Goods available for sale

= $700,000

Sales

– $500,000 (Sales of $1,000,000 x 50%)

Ending Inventory

= $200,000

Additional Retail Inventory Method Tips

If you plan to use the retail inventory method for your business, keep the following tips in mind.

1. Always Have Accurate Data Available

The retail inventory method requires you to use certain numbers, including your cost-to-retail ratio, beginning inventory, and sales. To ensure the calculation is efficient and effective, you need to keep accurate numbers available.

Therefore, you should equip your business with a POS (point of sale) and retail management system with strong reporting and analytics capabilities. 

2. Don’t Ditch Physical Inventory Counts

Since the retail inventory method only gives an estimate of your ending inventory value, it’s not the perfect substitute for physically counting and reconciling inventory.

For this reason, we still recommend scheduling physical inventory counts. However, it doesn’t need to be as frequent after integrating the retail inventory method.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Retail Inventory Method

Here are a few common questions retailers have about the retail inventory method.

Bottom Line on Retail Inventory Method

Keep in mind that the retail inventory method is more of an educated guess than a concrete calculation of how much value your ending inventory holds. This method provides directionally accurate answers to give you quick snapshots at any given time. It’s cost-effective, quick, and works best when it’s part of your overall inventory management strategy.

The Ultimate Guide to Merchant Service Providers

A merchant standing beside her goods in a shop

Merchant service providers are the key to unlocking your company’s full payment potential. What is a merchant service provider, and how exactly does it work? This ultimate guide has answers to all your burning questions.

What is a Merchant Service Provider?

A merchant service provider (MSP) is a broad term for any type of software, hardware, or service enabling you as a business owner to process credit or debit card payments. Not only do MSPs facilitate the process, but they also help keep your company’s and customers’ finances safe.

As the internet gained popularity as a marketplace, merchant service providers rose to the challenge of offering comprehensive platforms. Today, the top MSP accounts provide point-of-sale tools and business analytics so your business has everything it needs to succeed. 

The PCI Security Standards Council

The Payment Card Industry (PCI) Security Standards Council sets the bar for merchant service providers to follow. Constituted by American Express, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, and Visa, these companies help regulate the flow of money and protocols during business transactions.

Types of Merchant Service Providers

Not every merchant service provider is the same. For the most part, available services fall into one of three categories:

Merchant Account Providers

Generally speaking, merchant account providers set you up with a merchant account funds flow into after making a transaction. These providers then offer a means to process transactions from a debit or credit card and deposit it into this account.

A merchant account is not a business bank account, but rather a holding place for funds coming into your business. The merchant account provider transfers those dollars into your bank account periodically. Having a separate merchant account can be beneficial for tracking plastic transactions and controlling how funds move.

There can be fees associated with these extra accounts and the process used to process credit or debit card payments accordingly. If you’re looking into merchant service providers, be sure to check the types of cards they work with so you don’t find yourself in a sticky situation with an uncommon card.

Payment Service Providers

Payment service providers are another means of processing payments between buyers and merchants. Instead of having a merchant account, these providers lump merchants together to keep costs down. Being grouped with other businesses means you won’t have your own ID through which to channel funds.

These platforms don’t charge as much for this setup or typically require long-term contracts. On the flip side, you may not experience good customer service if things go awry. Payment service providers hold a lot of risk for letting you use their services, so it’s also more likely for them to freeze or terminate accounts with minimal warning. Even something as simple as a higher than usual payment can throw up a red flag.

Payment Gateway Providers

As the name implies, payment gateway providers create a path for online payments through a secure network. At present, these gateways are the only way business owners can collect payments through the internet.

Some providers will include a merchant account as part of the deal, while others offer a gateway only. In either case, you’ll have the interface you need for customers to shop from your site.

With cyberattacks at an all-time high, payment gateway providers add high levels of fraud prevention and security to keep you and your clients safe. Customers will want this peace of mind before purchasing your app or site.

Tracking the Transaction Process

When a customer makes a purchase, there’s more to the process than a simple swipe of a card. After the swipe, your MSP account sends a request to the customer’s credit card company regarding the purchase.

The credit card company forwards the information to the customer’s bank, where the bank checks for fraudulent activity and sufficient funds. Once the bank either accepts or rejects the transaction, it sends a message through the credit card company back to your MSP.

At this point, the transaction completes, and the customer has the product or service they desire. Depending on the speed of the credit card company, it may take minutes or a few days for the funds to appear in your merchant account.

Who Can Apply for a Merchant Service Provider?

Any business, no matter how large or small, can apply for a merchant service provider. Since MSPs assume risk by dabbling in financial matters, they can be particular about who they work with.

Your company may land in a hot spot if an MSP determines it to be high risk. Frequent returns or questionable charges can be all an MSP needs to reject an application.

What Tools Can Merchant Service Providers Provide?

A merchant service provider can toss a bunch of cool tools your way to help with payment processing. Check out some of the most common features below.

Merchant Accounts

Merchant accounts represent the bucket funds drop into whenever a customer makes a purchase in person or online using a plastic card. An MSP will then transfer the money into the bank account of your choosing.

The process may seem overcomplicated, but merchant accounts introduce a layer of protection designed to keep funds safe. Having a merchant account comes with a unique ID number to expedite transfers. Payment service providers are technically merchant accounts but don’t give a unique ID number.

Credit Card Terminals

Any physical store location needs credit card terminals to read credit and debit card information. Modern terminals connect to the internet through Ethernet or wireless connections, although those using WiFi tend to be more expensive.

It’s possible to either lease terminals or purchase them, depending on how long you envision using them down the road. Leasing these models usually isn’t a cost-effective option, so it’s almost always better to buy when you can.

It’s worth checking out terminals offering EMV compliance for chip cards and that extra layer of security. Similarly, you may wish to invest in NFC-based payment methods like Apple Pay and Google Pay, since these touch-and-go options are becoming increasingly popular.

Point of Sale Systems

Point of sale (POS) systems combine the benefits of credit card readers with a software-based solution for financial management and inventory tracking purposes. Many POS systems can run on tablets nowadays, eliminating the need for bulky computers.

You may even find point-of-sale systems with cash drawers, printers, or check scanners built right in. With the right platform, it’s possible to control all financial aspects from a single device.

Virtual Terminals

Virtual terminals turn a computer or mobile device into a credit card terminal. In most cases, businesses use these virtual interfaces to enter credit card information manually over the phone or tackle remote billing.

Some services include a card reader attachable to a USB port to handle in-person purchases quickly and easily. Where possible, it’s best to scan and keep a physical card on file to cut down on risk.

Mobile Payment Systems

Mobile payment systems enable you or your team to accept credit card payments with a smartphone or tablet. These systems come with a physical card reader that connects to your mobile device and collects card information.

As with credit card terminals, it’s best to choose a mobile payment system offering EMV compliance for extra security and NFC transactions for customers wishing to take a contactless approach. Devices with Bluetooth can introduce wireless connectivity, as headphone jacks on phones are going the way of the dinosaur.

Payment Gateways

Any business taking an online approach needs a payment gateway to receive payments in cyberspace. Gateways connect an online payment center to your merchant account or financial institution with minimal risk.

Only companies with an online presence need a payment gateway, so the service doesn’t typically come standard in merchant service provider packages. Don’t be surprised if you incur a monthly fee for using one. These services do introduce layers of security and customer management tools.

Online Shopping Carts

Online shopping carts are more than just an icon on a website. This software allows businesses to build and customize a website to highlight brands and products. Doing so creates a unique customer experience to stand out from the competition.

What Should You Look for in a Merchant Service Provider?

When picking out a merchant service provider for your business, not just any platform will do. Consider the following before making a purchase.

Features

A merchant service provider’s feature set should be a driving force in your decision-making process. If you’re doing business online, be sure to choose an MSP account with a payment gateway. Some providers add tools like inventory management or sales reporting to keep your business running smoothly.

Security

You and your customer base need to keep financial records safe and secure while performing transactions on the internet. MSPs often bulk up with fraud protection and encryption tools to block hackers from accessing your hard-earned money.

Hardware

For physical store locations, think about the type of hardware you want to use. Are mobile payment systems enough, or do you need full-blown point-of-sale systems? Picture the layout of your location and what makes the most sense before making any purchase.

Ease of Use

Hardware and software alike, it’s important to make sure your merchant service provider is quick and easy to use. If your team fumbles with credit card terminals or struggles through an app, it can reduce the likelihood of a repeat purchase. Such bumps also reduce efficiency, leading to less overall sales.

Support

A good customer service team at your back can get your system back online faster than you can say IT. On the other hand, limited access to support can leave you with hours or days of downtime before you can get up and running again.

Fees and Pricing

There can be a lot of fees associated with merchant service providers for the many services they offer. You should expect a monthly fee for using the service, but make sure the amount fits into your company’s budget.

Less obvious are fees for payment gateways or management software that can send costs through the roof. There may also be transaction fees each time you swipe a card. Should you need hardware solutions as well, weigh pricing options on larger units versus those with fewer features.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Merchant Service Providers

Merchant service providers can take on many forms, and understanding them all can be a challenge. This FAQ answers some of the most common questions about these platforms.

Bottom Line on Merchant Service Providers

Merchant service providers are an integral part of any business hoping to accept credit or debit cards as a payment source. These services connect your system to the necessary entities for transactions to take place. With the uptick in online shopping, merchant service providers are more important than ever to maximize your selling potential.

The Ultimate Guide to People Operations

The Ultimate Guide to People Operations

People operations empower your employees to become productive and fulfilled in the workplace. It’s essential for you to invest time and effort in people ops because your workforce is the backbone of your business. Although the term “people operations” is relatively new, it’s a traditional concept that is closely related to human resources (HR).

What Is People Operations?

People operations is a business function that humanizes business operations to improve employee experience. This people management model boosts the work efficiency and job satisfaction of your staff members through training, engagement, and retention. In practical ways, it highlights the importance of your manpower, not merely as people who are paid to do tasks, but as valuable members of your organization.

The term “people operations” was coined by Laszlo Bock, formerly the Senior Vice President (SVP) of Google’s People Operations department from 2006 to 2016. Through his book Work Rules!, Bock popularized the concept of people ops in the tech industry and beyond. He motivated employers, not just to protect the self-serving interests of the company, but the best interests of the employees as well.

People Operations vs HR: What’s the Difference?

People operations and human resources (HR) are similar in some ways but are also different in crucial ways. Both people ops and HR are people management models. However, conventional HR departments focus on the welfare of the company as an organization, while people operations teams concentrate on the professional and personal well-being of individual employees.

Check out the chart below for an overview of the main differences between people ops and HR:

People Operations

Traditional HR

Purpose

Employee value enhancement

Compliance enforcement

Priority

Supporting existing manpower

Hiring new staff members

Employee Participation

Active

Passive

Company Coordination

Collaborative

Mostly independent

Problem-Solving

Proactive

Responsive

System

Employee database + Rewards system

Employee database

Style

Holistic

Limited

Purpose

The main purpose of a conventional HR department is to enforce compliance with company policies and minimize the liability of the organization. In contrast, the goal of the people operations team is to maximize the value of the staff members in a systematic way.

Priority

On one hand, the top priority of an HR team is to interview and hire new additions to the company to fill up job openings. On the other hand, the people ops department gives importance to providing professional support to current employees to reduce turnover rates within the organization.

Employee Participation

An HR department usually shares information with the staff members about the latest decisions made by the management which affect the whole company. However, the people operations team gives rank-and-file workers the chance to actively participate in decision-making processes through open discussions.

Company Coordination

In general, the HR team works independently on its tasks, only consulting with other departments whenever necessary. In comparison, the people ops department makes it a habit to collaborate with other teams within the company to keep tabs on the workers’ situation.

Problem-Solving

The HR department typically solves problems as they arise on a case-to-case basis. In contrast, the people operations team proactively implements innovations to improve operations and prevent work issues.

System

The HR team maintains an employee database by inputting the latest payroll data and professional information. In addition to this, the people ops department also builds a rewards system to inspire staff members to work hard and stay loyal to the company.

Style

Overall, an HR department follows traditional, limited protocols in supervising the manpower of a business. Even better, the people operations team employs a holistic, flexible style to enhance the work experience of all the employees.

If you are currently practicing the old-school HR approach in your business, you may consider transitioning to the modern people ops approach to make your business more staff-friendly and well-rounded.

What Do People Ops Workers Do?

The people operations department plays a pivotal role in helping employees reach their full potential within the company. Let’s discover what the duties of the team are and who leads the people ops workers.

What Is the Role of the People Ops Team?

The people operations department assists employees beginning from their hiring and onboarding, continuing throughout their stay with the company, and ending with their exit from the organization.

Here are some examples of the common responsibilities of people ops workers:

  1. Facilitating the interview and onboarding procedures of new hires for a smooth transition
  2. Granting all employees access to the tools and technology they need to be productive at their jobs
  3. Ensuring that staff members receive health benefits and employment perks
  4. Providing venues for career development and educational training to enhance the skills and knowledge of employees
  5. Answering the questions of workers related to company policies and employment terms
  6. Listening to suggestions and feedback of staff members and taking the necessary actions
  7. Creating a rewards system to acknowledge employees with stellar work performance, commendable work ethics, and company loyalty
  8. Promoting a sense of belonging for all staff members within the corporate community
  9. Organizing events to engage employees and spark team spirit
  10. Streamlining outmoded HR systems to enhance efficiency
  11. Selecting the right payroll software that suits the requirements of the business
  12. Monitoring HR metrics like hiring periods and turnover rates
  13. Handling offboarding processes for exiting staff members
  14. Increasing overall job satisfaction of current employees by considering them as internal customers

Who Leads the People Operations Department?

The people ops team is typically supervised by two key leaders within the department:

People Operations Director

The people operations director is the head of the people ops department. He or she creates or improves the people ops strategy while aligning it with the mission and values of the organization. The director collaborates with the managers of other departments to boost interoffice relations and resolve employee issues.

People Operations Manager

The people operations manager oversees the day-to-day work activities of the team. He or she makes sure that the department reaches its goal of supporting the employees of the company through onboarding, offboarding, compensation disbursement, benefits administration, time-off approval, event planning, and system improvements. Also, the manager serves as a bridge between the people ops workers and the executive management.

Under the leadership of the people ops director and manager, all the people ops workers in the department fulfill their individual tasks.

What Types of Organizations Need People Ops?

Most organizations can benefit from people operations, whether they are big or small, private or public. These are the various types of organizations that can create a people ops team or perform related practices:

What Types of Organizations Need People Ops

Sole Proprietorship

A sole proprietorship, which is owned by a single individual, is one of the most basic forms of business. Due to its small size and budget, it typically doesn’t have a separate people ops department or a dedicated employee to handle this function. However, sole proprietors can still apply people ops principles on a small-scale level to motivate their employees.

Partnership

A partnership is formed by two or more owners who agree to run the business together. It may have a people ops team or not, depending on the size and resources of the organization. Either way, all the active partners should coordinate on how to implement people ops practices for the sake of the workforce.

Corporation

A corporation is a company that exists as a separate entity from its shareholders. It’s generally bigger and more complex than small businesses. Due to the sheer number of staff members, it can be challenging to nurture everyone who works in the different divisions of the corporation.

For instance, the leading 500 Fortune companies boasted from 302,394 up to 2.2 million employees in 2019. Nevertheless, corporations usually have enough resources and manpower to establish and run a full-scale people operations department.

Limited Liability Company

A limited liability company (LLC) is a business structure that provides personal liability protection to its owners from business debts and claims. It may have a people ops team or not, based on the size and budget of the LLC. Like other businesses, it can take advantage of the people ops approach for the sake of the workers.

Non-Profit Organization

A non-profit organization, or 501c3 non-profit, operates for the sake of a social cause or public good. Unlike for-profit businesses, its main purpose isn’t to generate income for the owners. Since the compensation is usually lower or non-existent compared to regular businesses, the leaders should make an extra effort to inspire paid employees and unpaid volunteers via people operations practices.

Government Agency

Government agencies are directly part of the federal, state, or local government of the U.S. These public organizations typically prioritize the well-being of their staff members through people ops. For example, the Office of Personnel Management oversees the civil service of the federal government. It’s responsible for coordinating the recruitment of new hires. Plus, it handles the health insurance and retirement benefits programs of existing employees.

How Can You Practice People Operations in Your Business?

No matter what size or type of business you have, you can carry out people operations practices in your organization. Just follow these simple steps:

Step 1: Make a Strategic Plan

First of all, create a plan on how to apply people ops principles to your business. If your organization is big enough, you may conceptualize how to establish a people ops team. If your business is fairly small, you can strategize how to apply people ops practices in small-scale ways. Either way, make sure that your plan is in sync with the vision and mission of the company. 

Step 2: Form a People Operations Department

If your company is new, you can build a people ops team from scratch. In case your organization already has an existing HR department, you may gradually convert the team into a people ops department. Based on your requirements, you can hire new people as people ops workers or assign some of your current employees to fill certain roles in the department.

It’s a good idea to handpick professionals with diverse backgrounds for your people ops team. After all, you can benefit from their different skills, including people relations, problem-solving, and data analytics. Plus, they can connect with a wider range of employees because of their varied work experience.

Step 3: Develop a People Ops System

There’s no strict formula on how to create a people ops system so you can develop one that works well for your business. In general, you can begin by setting up an employee database and payroll system or improving the existing one of your HR team.

Even more importantly, you should establish a rewards system so that the workforce will have attractive incentives to level up their work performance. Finally, confirm that your system allows you to effectively monitor and analyze data so you can make future company decisions based on these statistics.

Step 4: Implement Positive Changes

Make a difference in the professional lives of your employees by gradually applying changes for the better. Ensure that your staff members have health benefits and employment perks. Plus, be generous in offering career training and educational opportunities to everyone in the company.

Provide real-life and online venues to promote open discussions and honest conversations among the employees and the management. Overall, take practical measures to turn your office into a physically and mentally conducive place to work.

What Can People Ops Teams Do to Create a Positive Employee Experience?

The people ops department can take active steps to improve the overall experience of employees in the workplace. Here are some ideas which you can carry out in your organization:

  • Hire staff members with different nationalities, cultural backgrounds, and employment specializations to promote diversity in the office.
  • Build online group forums where members can share work ideas and discuss hot topics that can make an impact on company decision-making. 
  • Encourage employees to reach sales or productivity quotas through financial rewards.
  • Invite staff members to attend face-to-face or virtual classes to sharpen their leadership skills and knowledge.
  • Acknowledge the strengths of staff members through awards with matching prizes like gift cards and travel packages.
  • Host real-life and online community events to help employees get to know each other and interact with one another.
  • Give current staff members priority when job openings become available within the organization so they can have the opportunity to move up in their present department or transfer to another one for the sake of professional growth.
  • Organize team-building activities to strengthen the spirit of cooperation and collaboration within the company.

Aside from these ideas, the people ops leaders and workers can also brainstorm together to create unique incentives to make the organization a better place to work for employees.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for People Operations

People operations is a relatively new people management model compared to the conventional HR model. That’s why we have compiled the answers to basic questions on people ops so you can understand this concept better.

Bottom Line on People Operations

People operations encourage your employees to become the best they can be so they can give their best for your business. It’s definitely worth making an effort to switch from a traditional HR style to a revolutionary people ops approach for the sake of your workforce and your organization. Now that you’ve read our ultimate guide, we hope you’re now ready to start transforming your business through the best people ops practices.

Client Support Services Definition: What is it & How Does it Work?

Client Support Services Definition: What is it & How Does it Work?

Customer support is a trained team of people aiming to help customers with a product or service issue. In other words, it is to ensure that customers have successfully solved their problems with your company’s products and/or services. In this article, we’ve listed why client support services are important, how it works, and the difference between customer support and customer success.

What Is Client Support?

Competition is getting tighter among businesses, especially in a digital-first world. How companies can differentiate themselves will be a key element to how customers will react – will they stay, will they look for a competitor? Or will they stay loyal to your brand? 

One of the main ways to increase customer satisfaction, loyalty, and retention is through customer support services. As opposed to what it used to be a decade ago, customer support is omnichannel, so it can be done through email, social media, phone, and instant messaging apps. 

The faster, more efficient, and more effective a customer support team is, the higher the chance that customers will be happy with your service or products. Hence, increasing your customer lifetime value. But what is customer support, anyway?

Client – or customer – support is a team of people offering a range of client support services in order to assist customers and address their issues. In general, the team helps customers to solve a problem related to a company’s service or product. 

Why Client Support Is Important

Offering a good client support service is just as important as developing and selling good products and services. Shopping – in all of its forms, whether it’s online, offline, a product, or a service – is half customer experience and half transaction. 

If customers aren’t well assisted, they might leave. So, when organizations question if providing extra resources and budget are worth it to set up a customer support team or customer success team, the answer is an absolute yes. 

A top-notch client support service adds value to products and services, increases loyalty and customer retention, adds value to your brand, sets your business apart from competitors, boosts sales, and even helps business owners and managers to make better business decisions.

Customer Success Vs Customer Support

Difference between customer success and customer support

Customer success and customer support may sound like it’s the same thing but it isn’t. Despite some similarities, these two services (and teams) operate in different ways. Having a deep understanding of both concepts, you can better strategize improvements in both areas that will benefit your business.

Customer success is a set of procedures and processes that aims to help a company’s clients with their own success. In other words, the customer success team will reach out to their customers proactively to anticipate their questions and challenges. Also, customer success helps customers to accomplish their business goals and maximize the values they get from your product or service. 

Customer support is at the customer forefront – the team is customer-facing and it’s the connection between clients and the organization. The team deals directly with customers and is responsible to solve their problems related to a company’s business – product or service. 

For instance, customers might have a specific question about a product before purchasing or they might run into an issue with a product and need support – here’s where client support comes into play. 

Client-Driven Focus but Different Departments

Despite these two services being quite different, the confusion between them happens because customer support team members and customer success managers are generally well-skilled and have customer service best practices. In general, customer success and customer support play important roles in the overall customer experience.

Overall, these two are complementary services and the companies that understand the connection between them and put these two teams to work together – which isn’t often the case – can create more impact for their customers and the business, as opposed to siloing the two as stand-alone functions or departments.

Types of Customer Support Services

There are many ways to offer customer support services and the right type of service will depend mainly on business needs and customer demands. We’ve listed the top types of customer support services.

Phone support

One of the most traditional ways to tend to customers’ needs and troubleshoot their problems is through telephone support. And it is, still to these days, a powerful way to do it. Complex issues can be quickly solved in a matter of minutes, whereas, if compared to other customer support services such as email, it may take longer. It’s one reason why call center software is vital to customer support teams.

Chat support

The number of customers wanting to communicate with companies using the same tools they talk to their friends and family has increased over the years. Less personal than phone support, chat is still quite convenient. 

Chat support can happen in many forms, and the most popular ones are automated chatbots (interactions with automated bots jumped 81% in 2020), instant messaging apps such as WhatsApp, and social media messaging. 

Email support

Another traditional form of contacting a company’s customer service is using email. Using an effective email management system and customer relationship management (CRM) software, companies can easily organize, prioritize and solve customer support issues in one place.

Self-service support

Self-service support primarily exists in the form of frequently asked questions (FAQs) published on a company’s website, a dedicated customer support page, or an online community. For customers searching for product reviews and comparing services or prices on their own, this tool works quite well for them.  

Self-service support offers less friction and less interaction when compared to the others and it can also increase a company’s efficiency and help deliver faster resolutions.

Omnichannel Approach 

As seen above, there are various types of customer service your business can offer. However, it doesn’t cut it to just offer one channel. Customers want different ways to reach out to companies, especially if their first option didn’t work. 

The new solutions offer a customer experience across different channels and make them interact with each other. For example, if a customer sends an email or talks to a customer support agent on a live chat, they might expect a phone call to pick up exactly where they left off.

Client Support & Customer Success Roles

Customer support starts at the top with customer service management, but CS jobs embrace any job involved in customer service, support, success, and experience. There are some skills and qualifications for those interested in working in one of these areas. 

Soft skills, for example, may include empathy, patience, persuasiveness, friendliness, clear communication, and emotional intelligence. Regarding hard skills, qualifications, and requirements, it will depend specifically on the job itself. Within a customer support team, the main roles are:

4 Types of Customer Support Services
  • Customer support representative
  • Customer support specialist
  • Customer support supervisor
  • Customer support manager

The structure of a customer success team involves multiple job roles to fulfill all the responsibilities of developing and maintaining customer relationships, similar to customer support roles. 

Some useful skills for members of the customer success team include communication, the ability to analyze and interpret data, and problem-solving. The key roles in a customer success team are:

  • Customer success management team lead
  • Customer success operations manager
  • Digital success manager
  • Customer success analyst
  • Customer success manager

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Client Support Services Definition

Customer support and customer success may sound like it’s the same thing and it may cause some confusion. We’ve wrapped up the main questions about customer support services. 

Bottom Line on Client Support Services

Some managers and business owners may question some kind of investment (whether high or low) in a customer support team or customer success. If you are one of these people, we strongly advise you to think twice. That’s because both customer support and customer success team are vital for companies expanding and wanting to thrive. 

Competition is fierce in the digital-first era and organizations willing to put extra customer effort score to attend and give special attention to their customers increase their chances of success. 

Customer support is a way to help clients to solve any problems, questions, or concerns they have regarding a company’s products or services. Whereas, customer success proactively helps their customers with their challenges and issues so that they can achieve their business goals. 

Ultimate Guide to the Most Undervalued Crypto in 2023

Stack of undervalued crypto coins

CoinMarketCap reports the total number of cryptocurrencies in the world reaching a whopping 20,000. There’s bound to be a bunch of undervalued crypto coins, as well as overvalued ones, among the thousands of new and old projects.

Smart investors know the art of identifying undervalued assets and holding on to them for incredible returns in the long run. If you too are trying to find promising crypto projects for a long-term investment, this guide has all you need to know. Find out how to determine whether a cryptocurrency is undervalued, how to find such coins, and the most undervalued crypto on the market right now. 

What is an Undervalued Crypto?

Undervalued crypto is any cryptocurrency that’s being bought and sold on the market at a price lower than what is probably its true, long-term worth. To put it differently, the larger market has not yet realized the actual value of a digital currency, hence its demand, and by extension, its price is not as high as it should be. 

It’s not just new cryptocurrencies that can be undervalued. Even the oldest tokens like Bitcoin and Ethereum can be undervalued. As the BTC to USD chart below shows, the digital currency alternates between highs and lows. The lows, encircled in red, are the points where the crypto has been undervalued over the last couple of years.  

Screenshot of BTC to USD chart for 2014-2022 from CoinMarketCap
Source: CoinMarketCap

Typically, undervalued cryptocurrencies are the best to invest in. They will eventually rise in value, yielding lucrative returns for investors who got in early. However, such investments work best if you commit to them for the long term. This might mean dedicating your capital for at least a couple of years. This is not to say that short-term investments won’t work at all, they just won’t be as profitable. 

Just as some coins can be undervalued, others can be overvalued. This usually results from a hype investment, which is a characteristic of the crypto market. 

People tend to follow trends and jump into a fast-growing cryptocurrency often without analyzing its technical soundness. This results in it getting overvalued temporarily until eventually the bubble bursts and the price plummets down to what it should’ve been. Exactly like what happened to Dogecoin in 2021

Why are Cryptocurrencies Undervalued? 

There can be several reasons behind a crypto’s price being below its true value. If it’s a freshly launched project that promises great utility and a unique application, it’s only natural to be undervalued initially. The reason is that the market takes some time to build confidence in a new project and start to see the actual value it brings to the table.

The wider community usually waits for expert traders and bigger names to endorse a crypto coin before they get their feet wet too. This brings us to another important aspect of digital assets being over or undervalued: marketing.

Good marketing can make a coin incredibly overvalued and vice versa. Even a promising currency with a comprehensive white paper can’t really get the ball rolling unless it markets itself properly. 

When it comes to older projects, undervaluation usually comes down to the technicalities of crypto trading. Every tradable asset alternates between highs and lows which are typically fuelled by market sentiment. 

Top 10 Undervalued Crypto Coins on the Market

Here’s a quick look at the top undervalued cryptocurrencies out there. Continue reading as we analyze why these cryptos are undervalued. 

  1. Decentraland (MANA)
  2. The Sandbox (SAND)
  3. Lucky Block (LBLOCK)
  4. BNB (BNB)
  5. ApeCoin (APE)
  6. The Graph (GRT)
  7. Algorand (ALGO)
  8. Polygon (MATIC)
  9. Ethereum (ETH)
  10. Bitcoin (BTC)

You may not find all of these on some top crypto exchanges. Instead, we recommend you look for them on the crypto exchanges with the most coins as they’re more likely to have all of them.

1. Decentraland (MANA)

Decentraland -- Most Undervalued Crypto

Decentraland or MANA is the crypto token from the virtual Decentraland ecosystem. Players use the crypto to buy real estate holdings in the game that has developed quite the market lately. With Decentraland plots selling for as much as $2.4 million, the virtual world’s native token clearly has a lot of utility to offer.

As giants like Meta have introduced the idea of developing virtual worlds, already existing virtual ecosystems like Decentraland have experienced a boost in popularity, users, and investment. The crypto hit an all-time high price of $5.5 in 2021’s bull run. With reasonable demand, sound utility, a credible team behind it, and availability in almost all major markets, MANA is indeed a great long-term investment. 

2. The Sandbox (SAND)

The Sandbox metaverse

Just like MANA tokens from Decentraland, SAND crypto comes from The Sandbox, a virtual world where players can create, own, and customize their virtual experience the way they want. It’s a 3D metaverse where players can connect, create their 3D games, and buy, and trade in-game assets.

SAND is the native cryptocurrency the game uses. With a max supply of 3 billion tokens, it’s a deflationary cryptocurrency. With 900 million tokens already in circulation, the price of each SAND token will only go up once it nears its supply cap. Still, it has great utility, and with its all-time-high value at $8.4, which was much higher than MANA’s, The Sandbox has solid potential to grow in value in the future. 

3. Lucky Block (LBLOCK)

Lucky Block Jackpot Game

Launched in 2021, Lucky Block aims to disrupt the lottery industry by introducing its revolutionary decentralized lottery app. Players from all over the world can participate whereas the lottery itself will be completely decentralized and run on its own on the blockchain. This ensures players that the drawing process will be 100% random with no possibility of rigging.

Since the LBLOCK token will be the primary means of participating in Lucky Block games, the token has emerged to be one of the most useful cryptocurrencies. Moreover, all LBLOCK holders also receive a 10% share of winnings which means all investors have a chance of earning a passive income.

On top of that, Lucky Block cryptocurrency has quite a few amazing stats under its belt which make it an attractive undervalued crypto token to invest in. It’s the world’s fastest digital currency to hit a market cap of $1 billion with more than 50K investors in the first three months of its launch. Plus, if you’re an LBLOCK holder, you enter the daily jackpot free, making it an attractive cryptocurrency with great utility for the common person.

4. BNB (BNB)

BNB logo

When a crypto coin is backed by the world’s largest crypto exchange, you have to accept how strong it is. Binance is the world’s most popular crypto trading platform with the highest trading volume and liquidity. You can never take it out of the equation. 

BNB is the exchange’s native token housed on the Binance Smart Chain. Note that other undervalued cryptocurrencies like Lucky Block, Uniswap, Chainlink, and Avalanche are also based on the same infrastructure.  

What makes BNB a great long-term investment is the rock-solid support it has from the crypto exchange. BNB transactions are charged less by Binance which makes it a very useful asset to hold for Binance traders. 

5. ApeCoin (APE)

ApeCoin logo

ApeCoin is from the team behind Bored Ape Yacht Club, one of the best NFT projects to buy. The undeniable success of the project in the NFT area makes its governance token, APE, a good option for investors. 

The primary purpose of the ApeCoin was to function as a governance token whereby holders can have a say in how the NFT project is run. However, it has also emerged to have great investment potential with a relatively stable price even when the rest of the market was crashing.

6. The Graph (GRT)

The Graph logo

Launched in late 2020, The Graph is a relatively new virtual currency that’s making its mark when it comes to providing utility. As it happens, extracting data from different blockchains and using it hasn’t always been easy. But GRT is here to solve that problem as it gives consumers access to open APIs from blockchains.

This solves a long-standing problem in the industry which makes The Graph one of the most useful, and undervalued cryptos out there. Since its launch, GRT has continued to expand its horizons and works with more and more blockchains. Some have even dubbed it, ‘the Google of blockchains.’ 

7. Algorand (ALGO)

Algorand logo

While Bitcoin is based on the Proof of Work mechanism, Algorand is a Proof of Stake cryptocurrency which is a much more efficient alternative to the former. ALGO was originally designed to beat Bitcoin in terms of speed and efficiency and has been doing fairly well. Although it’s not as popular as the industry-leading BTC, it’s growing fast and garnering more attention as it partners with a range of blockchain companies. 

8. Polygon (MATIC)

Polygon logo

While some may confuse Polygon to be an actual cryptocurrency, it’s a decentralized Ethereum scaling platform that lets developers build decentralized applications (dApps). MATIC is the native crypto token used on Polygon which also helps to govern and secure the network through staking. 

With several market-leading companies and other tech giants using the Polygon network, its native crypto token is bound to go up in value. As of now, MATIC has quite a low price compared to its significant trading volume.

9. Ethereum (ETH)

Ethereum logo

You might expect a list of the most undervalued crypto to be full of hidden gems. However, even some of the most popular cryptocurrencies can be undervalued. Take Ethereum, for example. It’s only the second most popular crypto after Bitcoin and it’s severely undervalued for the massive range of applications it’s connected to.

Ethereum is arguably the highest utility cryptocurrency out there. The Ethereum blockchain houses several other cryptocurrencies and also powers technologies like smart contracts and dApps. Considering the utility and massive market cap of the ETH, it’s worth a lot more than its current price. 

10. Bitcoin (BTC)

Bitcoin logo

Last but not least, Bitcoin is also one of the most undervalued crypto tokens, especially right now (2022 bear market). Although it’s the largest cryptocurrency by market value and price, Bitcoin is at the very core of crypto technology. 

Experts believe the token to be the ‘gold standard’ of the crypto world and rightly so. It’s the single cryptocurrency that inspired the creation of thousands of others and remains to be a flagship asset when it comes to looking at crypto as a financial market. 

Bitcoin has some drawbacks too. As it’s based on a Proof of Work mechanism, BTC is not the most efficient when it comes to being a mode of exchange. The crypto has turned out to be more of an investment asset with the higher market cap out of all tokens. It reached an ATH of $68,780+ in 2021 but its price has significantly dropped since then, making it all the more undervalued.

How to Determine a Crypto is Undervalued?

Just like undervalued crypto, there are overvalued cryptocurrencies too. If you’re stepping into the crypto market, it’s best for you to know how to identify undervalued crypto. 

In traditional financial markets like stocks, finding undervalued stocks comes down to companies’ balance sheets, financial performance, and business and industry research. On the other hand, determining undervalued crypto assets is a little different. Here you can either make decisions based on advertising and hype or on market research and technical analysis.

If you’re thinking about investing in a token, here are some steps you should take to ensure it’s an undervalued cryptocurrency. 

  • Identify the team behind the crypto project: An experienced and trustworthy founding team is one of the most important factors you should consider when investing in a project. The names behind a cryptocurrency are what give it credibility and help it earn investors’ trust. 
  • Identify the project’s backers: Trustworthy projects often have well-known investors that pour in the capital early on. Check out for credible angel investors or VC funds as they often invest in projects that will likely deliver great returns. 
  • Study the charts: When it comes to identifying undervalued assets, studying charts is as simple as identifying highs and lows. If you see that the current value of a cryptocurrency is lower than what it usually is, you can say that it’s currently undervalued. However, this is only true if the crypto meets other requirements including having a credible team, strong backing, and offers utility.
  • Consider max circulating supply: Deflationary cryptocurrencies are those that have a maximum circulating supply limit or reduce supply over time. This results in an increase in value as there is a limited supply. In other words, cryptocurrencies with a maximum circulating supply limit are more likely to be undervalued than those that don’t limit supply. 
  • Consider the crypto’s utility: Last but not least, a digital asset’s value comes down to the utility it provides to users or investors. Assets like Ethereum, Lucky Block, Algorand, and Polygon allow users to avail of different services which give them inherent value. As a result, the higher a cryptocurrency’s utility, the more undervalued it is.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Most Undervalued Crypto

Here are some of the most frequently asked questions about the most undervalued crypto. 

Bottom Line on Undervalued Crypto

With thousands of cryptocurrencies being traded in the market, you will find several undervalued, as well as overvalued cryptocurrencies. The key to finding undervalued crypto is the utility it provides to users and investors. It gives it an inherent value that cannot be artificially changed in the long term. 

Other factors like a credible founding team and strong backing also contribute to a digital currency’s value over time. That said, we recommend you always make investment decisions based on market research and sound technical analysis. If you want to invest, go for top crypto exchanges like Binance, Kraken, or Coinbase that give you accurate prices and swift order fulfillments for a promising crypto investing experience.

The Ultimate Guide to DBA Checking Accounts

Business woman opening a DBA checking account online with her PC

If you decide you don’t want to form an LLC or corporation, you’ll likely want a “doing business as” registered name for your sole proprietorship or partnership. A DBA checking account can be a game-changer for a small company looking to build a brand. It can facilitate business processes, saving time and reducing headaches.

What is a DBA?

In both sole proprietorships and partnerships, the legal name of your business becomes your own name. Because of this, many small business owners wish to file a DBA to showcase themselves under a different name.

DBA stands for “doing business as.” Submitting a DBA allows you to operate your company under a different name even though its legal name does not change. Doing so helps create an image for your venture that you can build a brand around.

For instance, Sam Cutter starts up a sole proprietorship running store. Since he doesn’t want to refer to his business as “Sam Cutter,” he files a DBA for the name Sam’s Running Store. Now he has a clear brand to build his company around.

Some states may have naming restrictions you’ll need to follow. For the most part, you can name your business something serious, funny, or anything in between. In any case, DBAs help separate business and personal at least on paper. A DBA does not protect you from any legal ramifications you may face as a sole proprietor.

Filing a DBA

The DBA process is usually as simple as filling out specific paperwork and submitting it at the appropriate level. Some states require paperwork at the state level, while others only ask you to provide documents to the country. Others mandate submitting paperwork at both levels. After paying the necessary fees, your DBA is ready to go.

Creating a DBA Checking Account

Once you start operating your sole proprietorship or partnership under a DBA, you may need a DBA checking account as well. Fortunately, setting up a DBA checking account is even easier than filing for a DBA in the first place. Some banks may even let you sign up online.

Requirements for opening your DBA checking account may vary from bank to bank. However, financial institutions typically look for the following:

DBA Certificate

You’ll receive a DBA certificate from the state or county once you file your doing-business-as name. The bank will want to see this document if you want to create an account under your DBA name.

Social Security or Employer Identification Number

Sole proprietorship owners often use their social security number for business identification. Partnerships are better off using an employer identification number (EIN), as there are two owners. In either case, the bank will need to know the number you used when starting your business. Here’s how you can open a business account with EIN.

Photo Identification

Any legal photo ID works for proving you are who you say you are. Common options include a driver’s license, state identification card, or passport.

Business License

Bring along any business licenses your city, county, or state required you to obtain when you started up your business. This includes specialized licenses or permits your particular company needs to function legally. Make sure each document lists your name and your company’s name.

Who is a DBA Checking Account Best For?

It is possible for any business type to open a DBA checking account, but it isn’t always practical. LLCs and corporations can create a company name on creation and should have no need to file for a DBA.

DBA checking accounts are best for sole proprietors and partnerships. Upon formation, a sole proprietorship’s legal name becomes your personal name. Partnerships typically take on the last names of the owners. It makes sense to file for a DBA and set up a checking account reflecting this new business name.

Benefits of a DBA Checking Account

Using a DBA as a sole proprietor or partnership allows you to open a business checking account through a service like Bluevine instead of a personal one for your company. This enables your small business to reap the benefits a business checking account has to offer.

Separating Business and Personal

Opening a business bank account makes it easy to keep your personal finances apart from what you’re bringing in on the business side. Avoiding the mess of mingling funds helps with tracking income, expenses, and paying out taxes. It also helps to remove your real name from public advertisements that may compromise privacy.

Fast Transactions

As a business owner, you’re going to be buying supplies and selling products or services frequently. Personal bank accounts don’t always allow quick money transfers and may charge fees. Free business banking accounts are geared around the flow of funds, both expediting the process and making it cost-effective at the same time.

Interest Checking

The best business checking accounts tend to offer interest on funds stored within. The rate can be a significant boost to money you’re waiting to use for payments or holding for tax purposes.

Professionalism

No matter how small your company may be, having a DBA checking account adds a level of professionalism to your interactions with customers. Instead of seeing your name on transactions, your business has an appropriate name and reveals your purpose.

Future Financing

Many banks require you to have a business bank account for a certain number of years before you can request a line of credit or a small business loan. Starting a DBA checking account while you’re running a business solo helps set the stage for future growth.

Multiple DBAs Within a Single Bank Account

In most cases, it is possible to have multiple DBAs within a single bank account. Business owners may choose this route to further differentiate brands, products, or services within one business entity. It can be hard to juggle multiple DBAs unless you stay on top of your books.

If you take this approach, keep a very detailed list of funds moving into and out of your bank account, including the DBA they are moving through. Be sure payments clearly spell out where funds need to go with account numbers for tracking purposes.

Finances can get quite murky, and you don’t want to end up getting sued or audited along the way. It’s paramount to have a well-documented money trail lest you end up suffering through penalties or legal fees.

Alternatives to Using a DBA Checking Account

Using a DBA to open up a bank account isn’t for everyone. Here are a couple of other options you can consider instead.

Personal Checking Account

Sole proprietors don’t have to create a business account when forming their company. There isn’t a legal requirement to have a separate bank account for business purposes, so it’s possible to use your personal account instead. Depending on the type of business you own, it may be very challenging to distinguish funds. If you wish to create a business account, then check out the best business bank accounts for your sole proprietors.

Establish an LLC

Whether a sole proprietor or in a partnership, you can take your business to the next level by establishing an LLC. LLCs separate your personal and business funds, protecting your personal assets in the event of an audit or lawsuit. Your LLC will need a business bank account but doesn’t require a DBA to open.

Joint Bank Account

Partnerships can go the route of a joint bank account to keep business funds in a single account. Both partners receive full ownership of the account to make use of as they please. You will need information from both individuals, but you won’t need a DBA.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for DBA Checking Account

DBA checking accounts can be a confusing business. This FAQ will help alleviate your most pressing questions. 

Bottom Line on DBA Checking Accounts

Filing a DBA for your sole proprietorship or partnership is a great way to help your business stand out in a sea of others. DBA checking accounts offer a sense of privacy and professionalism while making it easy to send and receive payments. In the same vein, many banks give added incentives to business owners that you won’t find in personal accounts.

Best Business Bank Accounts by State

Below you will find an interactive U.S map that can help you locate and compare different banks and financial institutions that offer business accounts in your area.

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

What is a Gantt Chart?

A gant chart template illustration

A Gantt chart is a project management tool used to visualize a project plan. It’s a useful way of showing scheduled tasks and task due dates. Gantt charts help team members and project managers view the start dates, end dates, and milestones of a project in one simple stacked bar chart.

What is a Gantt Chart? 

When it comes to scheduling projects in a way that details all tasks and highlights the progression of events logically, Gantt charts are the answer. Gantt charts work for all types of projects, detailing a timeline of tasks horizontally with start and end dates. 

It is a transparent method of viewing jobs in progress. Gantt charts give a helpful visual depiction of a project, including relationships, phases, and dependencies. You can easily see team workloads, availability, and scheduling through the chart.

Historical Overview of Gantt Charts

In 1910, American engineer Henry L. Gantt was looking for a way to improve production and resource planning for factories and workshops. Alongside a friend, he developed a graph that depicted ‘deliverables vs time’, simplifying many of the processes that were hard for him to track previously. 

Gantt charts were originally made by hand, closely resembling bar-charts, with revisions made manually. Original Gantt charts critical paths were made to follow one another in logical drawn sequences. 

As computers became more advanced, these charts were easily programmed and transferred onto modeling software. Nowadays, you can make Gantt charts quickly and easily, allowing for greater complexity in design. As a well-established tool in project management, Gantt charts are frequently cited in planning documents and contracts. 

Why use a Gantt Chart?

Why would you want to use a Gantt chart? There are many benefits to this type of chart when compared with other project management graphs, all of which make it easier to analyze project development. 

First of all, creating a Gantt chart starts with a project schedule. It details who is involved, task due dates, and what needs to be done. This means that everything you need is all in one place. It also allows for more definitive resource planning, so allocating people and tools is made far more manageable. 

Furthermore, because a Gantt chart clearly displays the progress of a whole project, assessing progress becomes simple. This is especially helpful for project managers. Being able to view the chart in this way also makes identifying problems with ideas and plans much simpler and clearer to amend. 

Because everyone can see the chart, collaboration becomes much easier, and understanding the different tasks within a team is a whole lot clearer. 

What does a Gantt Chart Include?

Here are some key ideas that help better describe Gantt charts.

The Critical Path

This is the longest path on the schedule, often stretching the project’s duration. It highlights every task. Every task with an unmet due date puts the entire project at risk unless the task end date is removed or extended. In typical Gantt charts, due dates are red, so they stand out from other tasks. 

Dependencies

In a nutshell, every task on the Gantt chart is related to a predecessor and a successor, so everything is arranged in a logical order that flows effectively over the process of a project. Sometimes arrows are used to depict the flow of tasks. 

Milestones

Milestones are small points, typically marked without duration on the chart, representing task completion or significant developments in the production of a project. 

How to Read a Gantt Chart

Learning to read a Gantt chart can seem difficult from a distance, much like with any other graphical representation. Luckily, it’s effortless to understand how to read a Gantt chart once you learn how the graph represents data. 

Below are some of the most important features to identify on the chart. 

  • Scale: The scale of the chart works against time. Spanning horizontally (along the X-axis), dates are placed to provide the timescale of a project. This makes it easier to represent the relationship between tasks over time in an orderly way. It also means milestones can easily be recognized over the span of the task. Scale can be counted in days, weeks, or periods. 
  • Bars: Each bar on the chart represents a project task. Through the logical layout of tasks across the timescale, work can be assigned accordingly and given a clear duration that keeps the project as a whole on track. Sometimes, there is an overarching bar along the top of the chart representing the whole project duration.
  • Task Progress: Task progress is measured using percentages displayed on each task bar. Usually, this means a selection of each bar will be colored to depict how much of the project has been completed. Obviously, today’s technology has made processes like these far easier to do using programs like Excel, whereas data like this was hard to display in the past.

When reading the Gantt chart, there are several perspectives from which you can view the data. First, you can see the overview of the whole project in all its scope, starting with tasks, start dates, and due dates. Each task can include sub-tasks, with all sub-tasks needing to be complete. 

This can be further broken down into team member workloads and resource allocation, meaning each individual aspect of the project can be found in one place, with as much or as little detail as needed. It is worth noting, however, that an overcomplicated chart will be harder to read.

Check out our guide on how to use a Gantt chart to learn more. We break down the process of using a Gantt chart into nine easy-to-understand steps. Furthermore, we discuss the top three Gantt chart software for project management.

How to Create a Gantt Chart: Key Steps

Now that you know how to view the Gantt chart, you may be wondering how you can create your own for project management within your company. Whether you’re a freelancer or a manager in a business like advertising, there is value to creating a Gantt chart. 

While plenty of handy tools and project management software products on the market today often automate this process, you can also create Gantt charts using spreadsheet software like Microsoft Excel or Google Sheets. 

There are several steps to creating your own Gantt chart. 

Step 1: To begin, list the project schedule in a table. Place each task in a separate row, with the main project as the title. On the X-axis, add titles ‘start date’ and ‘end date’, then fill in the dates and deadlines accordingly. You can add milestones in the task column and color code or include them as symbols on a completed graph.

Step 2: You need to produce a simple bar chart based on the dates you’ve inserted in the columns. Select your start dates with the header, and make sure not to highlight the whole column, then insert a ‘bar’. Selecting a ‘stacked bar’ is standard practice. 

Step 3: Next, by clicking on your new bar chart, click ‘select data’, click ‘add’ and name your new series, then select your ‘end date’ data. The chart won’t look how you want it to yet. 

Step 4: When you click on your graph and select ‘start date’ in the data source box, a box will open, allowing you to select data. Select your tasks. Now, your graph should list the tasks along the left. 

Step 5: Remove your chart labels. Click on any of the primary bars in your graph, choose to format the data, and remove fill and lines. If your tasks appear in reverse order, you can change that by categorizing the axis in reverse. 

Step 6: Ensure tasks are arranged in order, and data markers are at the top. There are other steps you can take to alter the layout and format of your Gantt chart which pertain to your specific requirements. Additionally, plenty of templates are available both online and in software like Excel, such as the Gantt Project Planner. 

Of course, there are many ways of creating a Gantt chart, and some people prefer to format their chart using Excel or other software manually, while others choose to produce a physical copy of a graph with pen and paper. 

Naturally, these two processes will take longer than automated computer features, but this is more a question of personal choice and how many complications you’ll cause yourself by producing a graph with these methods.

This is why we recommend using software that can automatically create Gantt charts.

Our top three Gantt chart software for project management include:

Each of these software is easy to use and can quickly create comprehensive Gantt charts for your projects. For example, monday.com offers Gantt chart views for each of its plans and customizable workflow templates for all types of projects. 

Gantt Chart Pros

There are numerous advantages to using a Gantt chart for project management: 

  • Gantt charts allow for a transparent and easy view of project progress. Not only does this aid managers in reviewing the work being done by a team, allowing them to allocate work and resources accordingly, but it also aids collaboration within a team because many people are contributing to the same project. 
  • Everyone on a team benefits from viewing the Gantt chart and seeing what work is being done, the deadlines, expectations, and the progress. 
  • Gantt charts are suitable for any sized business. Even if yours is a solo project, setting out your processes can be beneficial. As for big businesses or large projects, the data can be helpful as an overview of something very complicated, allowing you to pluck certain information from a much larger portrait of a job. 
  • Seeing a clear progression of a project visually helps with understanding and digesting the project as a whole. As well as providing a clear overview of the direction the project is heading in, the visual aspect of the Gantt graph simply aids team members in seeing the aims and parts of the wider project. 
  • Scheduling is a massive part of working in a team, ensuring everyone’s workload is fair and that people are playing to their true strengths. With Gantt charts, managers can assign particular jobs to particular skill sets and ensure that employees are best utilized. 

Gantt charts aid in productivity and serve as motivation tools for a team. Everyone is aligned within a common goal as well as in their particular team role. Knowing that there is a specific timeline for the job ensures that everyone aims to complete their work punctually and keeps in mind the temporary nature of the project. 

Gantt Chart Cons

However, there are also some disadvantages to using a Gantt chart:

  • The primary complaint facing the Gantt chart is that the process and the graph itself can easily become too complicated. Some argue that even set up time can be very consuming. Of course, with the advantage of modern technology, time is saved, but this doesn’t necessarily detract from the formatting and planning required for such a graph. 
  • A project too big can easily become a hassle. The chart can become hard to read if you’re trying to insert numerous tasks with numerous team members, resource fields, and descriptions. If the chart’s job is to prepare plans for a project simplistically, it fails when it comes to overcomplicated or incredibly detailed data fields. 
  • Due to the aforementioned complexity of many projects, data is often required to back up your chart. This could be resource management, team hours, or simply descriptions of each individual job on the graph. While this is inevitably a manageable issue, it can easily add up to a very complex job, detracting from the initial point of the Gantt chart. 
  • As mentioned above, setup time can cause issues for a Gantt user. While this is made easier by programs like Microsoft Excel and project management software, it doesn’t take away from the fact that the data has to exist already to be inserted into the graph. 

Although paradoxical, there is an issue that comes with simplifying your Gantt chart. If you make your chart a barebones demonstration of the grander structure of your project, you’re obviously going to miss the details. 

Although, admittedly, there is still something to be said for giving a team access to the grand structure as a sort of grounding in the content. So, projecting your data in another way alongside the chart can be helpful, although time consuming. Alternatively, smaller projects will thrive when placed in the Gantt format. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for What Is a Gantt Chart

Below are a few common questions project managers have about Gantt charts.

Bottom Line on Gantt Charts

Overall, using the Gantt chart correctly makes for an effective tool in project management, meaning you can control all your data and resources in one place. Of course, this is helped hugely by the development of modern automated technology, but regardless, Gantt charts simplify the otherwise hectic job of defining project parameters and plans. 

There’s a reason why the Gantt chart has stood the test of time – it collates and simplifies otherwise complicated jobs and provides much needed clarity in many workplaces.